Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Rebel Yell Expanded Edition

Album: Rebel Yell Expanded Edition
# Song Title   Time
1)    Rebel Yell
2)    Daytime Drama
3)    Eyes Without a Face
4)    Blue Highway
5)    Flesh for Fantasy
6)    Catch My Fall
7)    Crank Call
8)    (Do Not) Stand in the Shadows
9)    Dead Next Door, The
10)    Rebel Yell - (previously unreleased, Session Take)
11)    Motorbikin' - (previously unreleased, Session Take)
12)    Catch My Fall - (previously unreleased, original demo)
13)    Flesh for Fantasy - (previously unreleased, Session Take)
14)    Blue Highway - (previously unreleased, original demo)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billy Idol (vocals, guitar); Steve Stevens (guitar, keyboards, bass); Mars Williams (saxophone); Judi Dozier, Jack Waldman (keyboards); Steve Webster, Sal Cuevas (bass); Thommy Price, Gregg Gerson (drums); Perri Lister (background vocals).
  • Producer: Keith Forsey.
  • Reissue producer: Kevin Flaherty.
  • Engineers: Michael Frondelli, Dave Wittman, Pete Thea.
  • Principally recorded at Electric Lady Studios C, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Billy Idol.
  • Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Bob Norberg (Capitol Mastering).
  • Personnel: Billy Idol (vocals, guitar); Perri Lister (vocals, background vocals); Steve Stevens (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer); Mars Williams (saxophone); Jack Waldman, Judi Dozier (keyboards); Gregg Gerson, Thommy Price (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Dave Wittman; Michael Frondelli.
  • Liner Note Author: Billy Idol.
  • Recording information: Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY; Mediasound, Inc, NY; RPM Sound Studios, New York, NY.
  • Photographer: Brian Griffin .
  • Arrangers: Steve Stevens ; Billy Idol.
  • Especially once it was reissued in the US with Generation X's classic punk-pop single "Dancing with Myself" tacked on the end, Billy Idol's 1982 solo debut wore its ties to the British New Wave scene proudly. For his 1984 follow-up, however, Idol dropped those associations almost entirely and re-presented himself as a leather-clad hard-rocker. It's a fine distinction to be sure, but one that suited him; REBEL YELL is a superior album to its predecessor. Keith Forsey's crisp production perfectly suits the tougher new songs, and showcases Steve Stevens's punchy, metallic guitar playing, the songs' most potent weapon. Particularly on the rambunctious title track, the creepy "Eyes Without a Face," and the sensual "Flesh for Fantasy"--all big MTV and radio hits--Idol, Stevens, and Forsey blend metal, hard rock, and pure pop tendencies better than almost any act at the time. The expanded CD adds five demos, including the previously unreleased "Motorbikin'."
Professional Reviews
CMJ (1/5/04, p.14) - Ranked #6 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1984"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Rebel Yell Expanded Edition on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top