Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Record

Album: The Record
# Song Title   Time
1)    Let's Have a War
2)    Beef Bologna
3)    Camarillo
4)    I Don't Care About You
5)    New York's Alright If You Like Saxophones
6)    Gimme Some Action
7)    Foreign Policy
8)    We Destroy the Family
9)    I Love Livin' in the City
10)    Disconnected
11)    We Gotta Get Out of This Place
12)    Fresh Flesh
13)    Getting the Brush
14)    No More Nothing
15)    Fuck Christmas - (CD only)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Fear: Lee Ving (vocals, guitar, bass); Philo Cramer (vocals, guitar); Derf Scratch (vocals, saxophone, bass); Spit Stix (drums).
  • Recorded at Sound City Recording Studios, Van Nuys, California in December 1981.
  • Personnel: Derf Scratch (vocals, guitar, saxophone); Philo Cramer, Lee Ving (vocals, guitar); Spit Stix (drums).
  • Recording information: Sound City Recording Studios, Van Nuys, CA (12/1981).
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Lee Ving.
  • When John Belushi tried to book Black Flag on "Saturday Night Live" the powers that be shook with fear and vetoed the idea on the spot. They did, however, suggest the band Fear as a replacement. Somewhat paradoxically, Fear, with all its sound, fury, and decidedly politically incorrect ideas, was somehow acceptable. Make no mistake, THE RECORD is aggressive, offensive, and loud--it is the sound of a kid flipping the bird. And there is a barreling, garage-like catchiness to anthems such as "I Love Living in the City." The difference between Fear and bands like Black Flag is a subtle but crucial one: Fear does not cross the line into aural violence. Perhaps it is the tongue-in-cheek quality to Lee Ving's rants about minority groups in "Let's Have a War." Ving may be giving everyone within earshot the finger but he's doing it from a moving car.
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.101) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Probably the most exciting and impressive, one-dimensional, ill-mannered, distasteful, odious `hate' record ever made."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Record on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top