Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Reflektor [2 Discs]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Markia Anthony Shaw, Richard Reed Parry, Owen Pallett, Sarah Neufeld (strings); Stuart Bogie, Colin Stetson (saxophone); Willinson Duprate, Wilkenson Magloire, Wichemond Thelus, Verrieux Zile, Dieuveut Marc Thelus, Baptiste Jean Nazaire (percussion).
  • Recording information: Breakglass Studios; Dockside Studio, Louisiana; Golden Radio; Sonovox Studios, Montr?al; Studio Pierre Marchand, Montr?al; Trident Castle, Jamaica.
  • Photographers: Korey Richey; Caroline Robert.
  • After stunning the mainstream pop machine into a state of huffy, new school e-disbelief by beating out Eminem, Lady Antebellum, Lady Gaga, and Katy Perry for the 2011 Album of the year Grammy, Arcade Fire seemed poised for a U2-style international coup, but the Suburbs, despite its stadium-ready sonic grandiosity, was far too homespun and idiosyncratic to infect the masses in the same way as the Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby. Reflektor, the collective's much anticipated fourth long-player and first double-album, moves the group even further from pop culture sanctification with a seismic 13-track set that guts the building but leaves the roof intact. Going big was never going to be a problem, especially for a band so well versed in the art of anthem husbandry, and they're still capable of shaking the rafters, as evidenced by the cool and circuitous, Roxy Music-forged, David Bowie-assisted title cut, the lush, Regine Chassagne-led "It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)," and the impossibly dense and meaty "We Exist." ~ James Christopher Monger
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (pp.67-68) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] thrilling act of risk and renewal by a band with established commercial appeal..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.99) - "'Joan of Arc' honors the hipster saint's 'vision' with a sultry, rhythm-first drive that flowers prettily." -- Grade: B

Billboard - "[I]t contains plenty of moments (most often in its uptempo, dynamic first half) that sound ready to breathe life into the middling state of commercial rock in 2013."

Q (Magazine) (pp.100-101) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "REFLEKTOR is profoundly '80s in spirit, from the strolling 'Billie Jean' bass of 'We Exist' to the electro-heavy second disc..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.82) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Regine Chassagne's vocals, part Debbie Harry, part Bilinda Butcher, are especially important to these songs, lending a sinister sweetness to the liquid Rapture of the title track..."

Paste (magazine) - "'We Exist' marries a subdued disco groove to psychedelic squiggles, building to a crescendo of symphonic bombast..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Reflektor on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top