Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Remixes 81-04 [1-CD]

New or Used: $10.00
Album: Remixes 81-04 [1-CD]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Never Let Me Down Again - (Split Mix, remix)
2)    Personal Jesus - (Pump Mix, remix)
3)    Barrel of a Gun - (Underworld Hard Mix, remix)
4)    Route 66 - (The Beatmasters Remix)
5)    Useless - (The Kruder & Dorfmeister Session mix, remix, The Kruder + Dorfmeister Session)
6)    In Your Room - (The Jeep Rock Mix, remix)
7)    Home - (Air 'Around the Golf' Remix, Air "Around The Golf" remix)
8)    Strangelove - (Blind Mix, remix)
9)    I Feel You - (Renegade Soundwave Afghan Surgery Mix)
10)    Just Can't Get Enough - (Schizo Mix, remix)
11)    Halo - (Goldfrapp Remix, Goldfrapp remix)
12)    Enjoy the Silence - (remix, Reinterpreted)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Alison Goldfrapp (vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Depeche Mode; Daniel Miller; Gareth Jones ; Norscq; Mark "Spike" Stent.
  • Audio Remixers: Flood ; Depeche Mode; Stephane "Alf" Briat; Club 69; DJ Shadow; Daniel Miller; Danny Tenaglia; Dave Bascombe; Dave Clarke ; Johnny Dollar ; Dennis Mitchell ; Dominique Brethes; Eric Radcliffe; Gareth Jones ; George Holt; Goldfrapp; Alan Gregorie; Fran?ois Kevorkian; Doug Hart; Joshua Tobias; Danny Briottet; Jack Dangers; Paul Freegard; Brandon Abeln; John Fryer; Adrian Sherwood; Jon Marsh ; Air; Kruder & Dorfmeister; LFO ; Alan Moulder; Martin Buttrich; Mike Shinoda; Peter Kruder; Peter Rauhofer; Portishead; Ray Carroll; Renegade Soundwave; Richard Dorfmeister; Rico Conning; Robin Hancock; Speedy J; The Beatmasters; Timo Maas; Troy Staton; Underworld; Ulrich Schnauss; William Orbit; Rex the Dog; Chamber.
  • Liner Note Author: Paul Morley.
  • There was a time when you could walk into your average record store and find the singles section by spotting the big block of black rows. These rows signaled the whereabouts of the Ds and tended to eat up a disproportionate space of the singles section. In 2004, the Mute label condensed all of these releases into Remixes 81-04, which itself was ironically (or fittingly) presented in multiple versions. This particular version is a triple-disc set that attempts to function as a representative sampling of Depeche Mode's innumerable remixes. It does an admirable job, making a point to highlight glorified extended versions and radical reworkings alike. Fran?ois Kevorkian, for instance, uses his invaluable understanding of the inner workings of both disco and dub to extend and sensitively tweak "Personal Jesus" for the dancefloor, transforming it into something that he would likely spin while DJing. Air, however, alter "Home" to the point where it sounds like one of their own moody, downcast productions -- Martin Gore plays guest instead of host. One of the most thrilling remixes shows no respect to the source material; Adrian Sherwood's decimation of "People Are People," from 1984, is a succession of jackhammering beats, agitated noise fragments, bizarre vocal interjections. In order to entice hardcore fans who already have the old remixes on the original single releases (or the six exhaustive box sets), a handful of new remixes were commissioned. Most of these appear in the latter half of the third disc, and at least half deserve to be in the company of the better-known reshapes. "Clean" is turned into a bristly acid gallop by Colder, and the new rhythm winds up coming close to mirroring "Personal Jesus." Rex the Dog reaches all the way back to "Photographic," providing layer upon layer of bursting synth. Ironically (or fittingly), Paul Morley -- who, as one of the tricksters behind the ZTT label (Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Propaganda), came up with the idea that you could never have a track remixed too many times -- pens the liner notes. ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]hey invest the track with new meaning or power....Sometimes they simply remind you how great the song itself was in the first place."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Synth Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Remixes 81-04 [1-CD] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top