Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Renaissance [Repertoire]

Album: Renaissance [Repertoire]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Kings and Queens
2)    Innocence
3)    Island
4)    Wanderer
5)    Bullet
6)    Sea, The
7)    Island
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Renaissance: Keith Relf (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Jane Relf (vocals, percussion); John Hawken (piano, harpsichord); Louis Cennamo (bass); Jim McCarty (percussion, vocals).
  • Recorded at Olympic Sound Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Richie Unterberger.
  • All tracks are live recordings.
  • RENAISSANCE, the debut album from New York Renaissance Band, features seven tracks including "Sea" and "Island."
  • Composer: Betty Thatcher Newsinger.
  • Personnel: Keith Relf (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Jim McCarty (vocals, drums, percussion); Jane Relf (vocals, percussion); Annie Haslam (vocals); Michael Dunford (guitar); John Hawken (piano, harpsichord, keyboards); John Tout (keyboards); Louis Cennamo (bass guitar); Terence Sullivan (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Mark Brennan .
  • Recording information: Olympic Sound Studios.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Jim McCarty ; Keith Relf; Paul Samwell-Smith.
  • The original group's debut album was a then-groundbreaking meld of progressive rock with classical and jazz influences. The album is a little clunky by today's standards, and far druggier than the later group in its ambience (cofounders Keith Relf and Jim McCarty were the heavily psychedelic half of the final lineup of the Yardbirds, which made them anathema to Jimmy Page), but vocalist Jane Relf had a striking individual style, and the classical influence was unique for its time. [The 2002 Collector's Choice reissue cuts "Sea" and the second version of "Island" from the track listing.] ~ Bruce Eder
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (7/02, p.116) - "...An unusual style-salad across 5 lengthy songs which visiting that prog-rock parallel universe of malevolent jesters and mythical islands..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Renaissance [Repertoire] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top