Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


New or Used: $29.74
New or Used: $29.74

Product Description
Product Details


1. Luka

2. Tom's Diner (Feat. Dna)

3. Marlene On The Wall

4. Caramel

5. 99.9 Degrees F

6. Tired Of Sleeping

7. Small Blue Thing

8. Blood Makes Noise

9. Left Of Center

10. (I'll Never Be) Your Maggie May

11. In Liverpool

12. Gypsy

13. Book Of Dreams

14. No Cheap Thrill

15. Calypso

16. World Before Columbus

17. Solitude Standing

18. Penitent

19. Rosemary

20. The Queen And The Soldier (Live)

21. Woman On The Tier (I'll See Throough You)

22. Caramel (Live From Wisconsin April 2003)

23. Widow's Talk (Live From Wisconsin April 2003)

24. Solitude Standing (Live From Wisonsin April 2003)

25. Blood Makes Noise (Live From Wisonsin April 2003)

26. Liverpool - A Short Reading From 'the Passionate Eye' (Live

27. In Liverpool (Live From Wisconsin April 2003)

28. Anniversary (Demo Of New Unreleased Song)

29. Tom's Diner (Original Version)

Performer Notes
  • "The Queen And The Soldier" was recorded live at The Paleo Festival, Nyon, Switzerland, 1991.
  • Personnel: Suzanne Vega (vocals, acoustic guitar); Gerry Leonard (acoustic & electric guitars, dulcimer, mandolin, zither); Tchad Blake (electric guitar, E-bow); Marc Schulman, Frank Christian, Richard Pleasance (electric guitar); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Cecilia Sparacio (flute); Don Byron (clarinet, bass clarinet); John Linnell (accordion); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Rupert Hine (piano, keyboards, synthesizer, bass, programming); Anton Sanko (Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizert); Mitchell Froom (keyboards); Michael Visceglia, Frank Gravis, Bruce Thomas, Paul Dugan (bass); Pete Thomas (drums, percussion, loops); Stephen Ferrera, Jerry Marotta (drums, percussion); Shawn Colvin (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Steve Addabbo, Lenny Kaye, Mitchell Froom, Anton Sanko, Suzanne Vega.
  • Compilation producers: Mike Ragogna, Suzanne Vega.
  • Recorded between 1985 & 2001. Includes liner notes by Lenny Kaye.
  • This collection from the esoteric singer/songwriter features not only hits like "Luka," "Tom's Diner," "(I'll Never Be) Your Maggie May," No Cheap Thrills," and "Gypsy," but it also includes five live cuts and a demo version of "Anniversary."
  • Personnel: Suzanne Vega (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Jon Gordon (guitar, electric guitar); Steve Addabbo (guitar, background vocals); Billy Masters (guitar); Gerry Leonard (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dulcimer, mandolin, zither); Marc Shulman (electric guitar, electric 12-string guitar); Richard Pleasance, David Hidalgo, Frank Christian, Steve Donnelly, Tchad Blake (electric guitar); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Rupert Hine (strings, piano, keyboards, drum programming); Cecilia Sparacio (flute); John Linnell (accordion); Don Byron (clarinet, bass clarinet); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Joe Jackson (piano); Mitchell Froom (keyboards); Anton Sanko, C.P. Roth (synthesizer); Pete Thomas , Steve Ferrera, Jerry Marotta, Sue Evans (drums, percussion); Dougie Yowells, Frank Vilardi, Jay Bellerose (drums); Michael Blair (cymbals, tambourine); Nick Pugh (drum programming); Shawn Colvin (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Hugh Padgham; Jay Burnett; Shelly Yakus; Stephen W. Tayler; Tchad Blake.
  • Audio Remixer: DNA .
  • Liner Note Author: Lenny Kaye.
  • Recording information: Bearsville Sound Studios (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Luther's Blues, Madison, WI (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Nola Studios, New York, NY (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Paleo Festival, Nyon, Switzerland (??/??/1987-05/09/2003).
  • Photographers: Melanie Nissen; Matthew Vega; Catherine Lazure; Marion Ettlinger; Faubel Christensen; Paula Bullwinkel; Geof Kern; Albert Sanchez.
  • Arranger: Rupert Hine.
  • When Suzanne Vega emerged in the mid-1980s, she heralded the arrival of a new kind of troubadour, one who merged the contemplative singer/songwriter tradition of Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, et al, with a decidedly modernistic outlook influenced by the likes of Lou Reed, David Byrne, and Laurie Anderson. Consequently, she had a huge impact on what singer/songwriters sounded like from then on. Listening to the comprehensive anthology RETROSPECTIVE, it's easy to see why. The artful minimalism of such early songs as "Small Blue Thing" and "Tom's Diner" (the latter subsequently remixed into a huge dance hit) is just as striking decades down the line. And the sophisticated popcraft of later recordings (including those produced by Vega's then-husband Mitchell Froom) melds everything from bossa nova to industrial synth-pop with Vega's arty folk-rock. This compilation is arranged to flow musically rather than chronologically, allowing one to experience the full range of moods present in the work of this compelling and complex songstress.
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.121) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 10 videos included in this retrospective show a refreshing angle on the female gaze....[T]his is an imaginative mix."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Retrospective: The Best of Suzanne Vega [UK Bonus CD. on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top