Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Rising from the Grave

Album: Rising from the Grave
# Song Title   Time
1)    King Is Dead, The
2)    Bitter End
3)    Abandon Ship
4)    Tyrannicide
5)    Scorcher
6)    Genius Insanity
7)    (The) Whore of Babylon
8)    Winds of War
9)    He's a Woman, She's a Man
1)    Rhapsody in Black
2)    Baptized in Blood
3)    To Sleep, Perchance to Scream
4)    Harker's Tale (Mass of Death)
5)    Perserverance and Desperation
6)    Curse Has Passed Away, The
7)    Benediction
8)    Harsh Reality
9)    Swirling Madness
10)    Von Am Lebem Desto Strum
11)    Aieliaria and Everonn
1)    Swirling Madness - (live)
2)    King Is Dead, The - (live)
3)    Evil Reign - (live)
4)    Abandon Ship - (live)
5)    Baptized in Blood - (live)
6)    To Sleep Per Chance to Scream - (live)
7)    Harker's Tale - (live)
8)    Curse Has Passed Away, The - (live)
9)    Scorcher - (live)
10)    Angel of Death - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: The Hellraisers' Hordes (vocals); Larry Barragan (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Bill Metoyer.
  • Audio Remasterer: Brad Vance.
  • Liner Note Authors: Larry Barragan; James Rivera.
  • Recording information: Backstage Club, Houston, TX (12/25/1989); Digital Services (12/25/1989); Pacific Studios (12/25/1989); Ramparts Studios, Houston, TX (12/25/1989); Track Records, CA (12/25/1989).
  • Photographers: Alex Solca; Elena Ray; Kirt Speet.
  • In a 2006 interview, Helstar guitarist Larry Barragan was quoted as saying that at one point he became so burned out on the music industry that he quit playing music altogether, and literally went about half a decade without even picking his guitar up. It isn't hard to understand why Barragan (who eventually returned to Helstar and also co-founded a band called Eternal Black) felt burned out; Helstar had their share of challenges, ranging from label problems to an abundance of lineup changes to touring difficulties. But despite all that, Helstar recorded some memorable albums -- and this three-disc set (two CDs and a DVD) takes a generally enjoyable, if imperfect, look at Helstar's Metal Blade period of the late '80s. Rising from the Grave contains the two studio albums they recorded for Metal Blade (1988's A Distant Thunder and 1989's Nosferatu) as well as the live DVD T'was the Night of a Helish Xmas, which was filmed/recorded on-stage at a Christmas gig in Houston in 1989 and originally released as an audio CD in 2000. Although T'was the Night of a Helish Xmas has been criticized for its inferior sound quality, die-hard Helstar aficionados will nonetheless be glad to have it in the same package as A Distant Thunder and Nosferatu -- both of which are solid power metal efforts that sometimes border on speed metal. In fact, Nosferatu (a conceptual outing based on Bram Stoker's Dracula) is widely regarded as Helstar's most essential album. And even though Helstar's Metal Blade-era lineup -- the Rob Halford-ish James Rivera on lead vocals, Barragan and Andr‚ Corbin on guitar, Jerry Abarca on bass, and Frank Ferreira on drums -- didn't have much commercial success, that doesn't make A Distant Thunder or Nosferatu any less worthwhile. Rising from the Grave isn't for casual listeners, but headbangers who are really into Helstar will welcome its arrival. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Rising from the Grave on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top