COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

Road Rock Vol. 1


Product Description
Product Details


1. Cowgirl In The Sand

2. Walk On

3. Fool For Your Love

4. Peace Of Mind

5. Words

6. Motorcycle Mama

7. Tonights The Night

8. All Along The Watchtower

Performer Notes
  • Neil Young Friends & Relatives: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, piano); Ben Keith (acoustic, electric, lap slide & pedal steel guitars; background vocals); Spooner Oldham (piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Hammond B3 organ); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Jim Keltner (drums, percussion); Astrid Young, Pegi Young (background vocals).
  • Additional personnel includes: Chrissie Hynde (vocals, guitar).
  • Personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, piano); Ben Keith (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, lap steel guitar); Chrissie Hynde (vocals, guitar); Pegi Young (vocals); Spooner Oldham (piano, electric piano, Wurlitzer organ); Peter Maher (keyboards).
  • Photographers: Damon Hennessey; Danny Clinch.
  • For his 2000 Silver & Gold Tour, Neil Young assembled an outfit called Friends & Relatives, whose ranks featured long-time collaborator Ben Keith, MG Duck Dunn, Muscle Shoals session god Spooner Oldham, and peripatetic drummer Jim Keltner, with sister Astrid and wife Pegi on harmonies. Young avoids making the album either a live reprisal of his most recent studio album or a de facto greatest-hits package by tossing in a number of obscure songs from his set list.
  • Among the chestnuts featured are the jaunty "Walk On" (from the long-unavailable ON THE BEACH), and the introspective "Peace of Mind" (originally released on the often overlooked COMES A TIME). For those entranced by Young's grinding improvisation, there is a nearly 20-minute version of the gloriously swirling "Cowgirl in the Sand" and an epic "Words (Between the Lines of Age)" given a ghostly edge by Keith's ethereal-sounding pedal steel. The jamming slows down just enough for Young to shift into lovelorn gear on the previously unreleased lament "Fool For Your Love." Wrapping things up is an ominously chugging "Tonight's the Night," and an incendiary reading of "All Along the Watchtower," featuring opening act and long-time fan Chrissie Hynde.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/21/00, p.170) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Young kicks the dump in the Neil Young keeps proving, goofing around helps an old rock & roller stay young at heart."

Melody Maker (12/5/00, p.57) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Yes, he's still got it. 'It', of course, being the ability to play 18-minute songs that don't lull you into a coma."

NME (Magazine) (11/18/00, p.42) - 7 out of 10 - "...There's a restlessness here, within a sound that initially seems slapdash and reckless, that amounts to a sort of musical scorched-earth policy - dust down old memories and burn them until they crackle..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Road Rock Vol. 1 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top