Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Robbie Robertson

Album: Robbie Robertson
# Song Title   Time
1)    Fallen Angel More Info... 5:55
2)    Showdown At Big Sky More Info... 4:50
3)    Broken Arrow More Info... 5:25
4)    Sweet Fire Of Love More Info... 5:18
5)    American Roulette More Info... 4:57
6)    Somewhere Down The Crazy River More Info... 4:58
7)    Hell's Half Acre More Info... 4:21
8)    Sonny Got Caught In The Moonlight More Info... 3:52
9)    Testimony More Info... 4:49
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar); Bill Dillon (guitar, background vocals); Tinker Barfield, Larry Klein, Abraham Laboriel, Hans Christian (bass); Tony Levin (Chapman stick); Manu Katche, Terry Bozzio (drums, percussion); Martin Page, Cary Butler (drum programming).
  • Producers: Daniel Lanois, Robbie Robertson, Jim Scott, Gary Gersh.
  • Personnel: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Daniel Lanois (vocals, guitar, omnichord, percussion, background vocals); Bono (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Peter Gabriel (vocals, keyboards); Sammy Bodean, Ivan Neville, Maria McKee, Rick Danko (vocals, background vocals); Bill Dillion, Bill Dillon (guitar, background vocals); The Edge (guitar); Gil Evans (horns); Garth Hudson (keyboards); Manu Katch (drums, percussion); Larry Mullen, Jr., Terry Bozzio (drums); Martin Page , Cary Butler (programming, drum programming); BoDeans (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Bob Clearmountain.
  • Recording information: A&M Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA; A&M, Los Angeles, CA; Ashcombe House, London, England; Bearsville Sound Studios, Bearsville, NY; Hit Factory Studios, New York, NY; The Hit Factory, New York, NY; The Village recorder, West Los Angeles, CA; U2 Mobile Unit, Dublin, Ireland; U2 Mobile Unit-Danesmote, Dublin, Ireland; Village Recorders, West Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographer: Chris Callis.
  • Arrangers: Gil Evans; Pete Levin.
  • After dismantling The Band in the mid '70s, Robertson remained strangely inactive. Thus, the anticipation level was high when rumors of his impending solo album began to circulate at the tail end of the '80s. Rather than release a thowback retro effort to satiate the hearts of fans thirsting after The Band's brand of backwoods roots rock, Robertson stepped firmly into the present day. With the help of producer Daniel Lanios, the album is enveloped with modern textures. Robertson admirably handles the bulk of the vocal chores (keep in mind that he rarely sang a note with the Band).
  • Nonetheless, numerous artists are drawn into the fold to beef up Robertson's effective, but limited, vocal abilities. Peter Gabriel helps transform the beautiful "Fallen Angel" (a moving eulogy to deceased Band member Richard Manuel) into a bona fide hymn that does justice to Manuel's memory. Bono injects heat into the "Sweet Fire of Love" while Robertson growls like a man who's somehow found an extra reserve of energy to lay his claim, once again, as one of the premiere talents of his generation.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - Ranked # 77 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Albums Of The Eighties" survey (November 1989).
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Robbie Robertson on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top