Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway [Remaster]

Album: Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I (Who Have Nothing)
2)    You've Got a Friend
3)    Baby I Love You
4)    Be Real Black for Me
5)    You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
6)    For All We Know
7)    Where Is the Love
8)    When Love Has Grown
9)    Come Ye Disconsolate
10)    Mood
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Donny Hathaway (vocals, piano, electric piano); Roberta Flack (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); John Littlejohn (vocals, guitar); Joel Dorn (vocals, piano); David Spinozza, Eric Gale , Hiram Bullock, Jeff Mironov, John Tropea (guitar); Ray Chew (strings, horns, keyboards); Arif Mardin (strings); Joe Gentle, Hubert Laws (flute); Joe Farrell (saxophone, soprano saxophone); Raymond Jones , Harry Whitaker, Paul Griffin (keyboards); Ed Walsh, Ronnie Foster (synthesizer); Jack Jennings (vibraphone, background vocals); Chuck Rainey (electric bass); Howard King, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Billy Cobham (drums); Errol Crusher Bennett, Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Brenda White, Eric Mercury, Merle Miller, Gwen Guthrie, Jocelyn Shaw, Eleanore Mills, Revelation, Luther Vandross, Yvonne Lewis (background vocals).
  • Recording information: Atlantic Studios, New York, NY; Crystal Industries Inc., Hollywood, CA; Hit Factory Studios, New York, NY; Le Studio, Morin Heights, Quebec, Canada; Power Station Studios, New York, NY; RCA Recording Studios, New York, NY; Regent Sound STudios, New York, NY; Studio, Morin Heights, Quebec, Canada.
  • Illustrator: H‚lene Gu‚tary.
  • Arrangers: Gwen Guthrie; Luther Vandross; Roberta Flack; Arif Mardin.
  • In the 1970s, R&B came to be dominated by glossy production, lending the music a slick, processed sound. Albums like 1972's ROBERTA FLACK & DONNY HATHAWAY, however, have an organic feel more closely tied to the rootsy soul traditions of the '60s. Flack was arguably the era's greatest practitioner of this strain of soulful, reflective R&B (check out her remarkable '69 debut, FIRST TAKE), and her first collaboration with keyboardist and vocalist Donny Hathaway is one of her finest efforts.
  • The rich, elastic voices of the duo are perfectly matched--they sing in close-knit harmony throughout the set, and their chemistry is intimate and full of strong emotion. Moods range subtly but distinctly--a funky version of "Baby I Love You" simmers along in a mellow groove, while the opener, "I (Who Have Nothing)," is a stirring, romantic ballad. Though a near-definitive version of Carole King's "You've Got a Friend" is one of the highlights, the breezy "Where Is the Love," which became a runaway chart hit, steals the spotlight. This classic R&B record blends soul, folk, jazz, and blues with an earthy flair.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/17/72, p.49) - "...Roberta manages to add some lightness to Donny's unremittingly tortured vocal style, while Hathaway, with his long background as an arranger and sideman on soul sessions, contributes a little flair..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul » Chicago Soul
Home » Music » R&B » Pop R&B
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top