Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Rock of Ages [Deluxe Edition] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Introduction

2. Don't Do It

3. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)

4. Caledonia Mission

5. Get Up Jake

6. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show

7. Stage Fright

8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down

9. Across The Great Divide

10. This Wheel's On Fire

11. Rag Mama Rag

12. The Weight

13. The Shape I'm In

14. Unfaithful Servant

15. Life Is A Carnival

16. The Genetic Method

17. Chest Fever

18. (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes

19. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever

20. I Shall Be Released

21. Up On Cripple Creek

22. The Rumor

23. Rockin' Chair

24. Time To Kill

25. Down In The Flood (The Band With Bob Dylan)

26. When I Paint My Masterpiece (The Band With Bob Dylan)

27. Don't Ya Tell Harry (The Band With Bob Dylan)

28. Like A Rolling Stone (The Band With Bob Dylan)

Performer Notes
  • The Band: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar); Richard Manuel (vocals, piano); Rick Danko (vocals, bass instrument); Levon Helm (vocals, drums); Garth Hudson (tenor saxophone, organ).
  • Personnel: J.D. Parron (e flat clarinet, alto saxophone); Garth Hudson (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Snooky Young (trumpet, flugelhorn); Earl McIntyre (trombone).
  • Additional personnel: J.D. Parran (clarinet, alto saxophone); Joe Farrell (English horn, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Howard Johnson (baritone saxophone); Earl McIntyre, Snooky Young.
  • Audio Remixer: Dan Gellert.
  • Liner Note Authors: Greil Marcus; Rob Bowman.
  • Recording information: Academy Of Music, New York, NY.
  • Photographers: Fred Lombardi; Ernst Haas.
  • Long before they became The Band, these four Canadians and one southern rebel rocked the rooftops off Canada as The Hawks, Ronnie Hawkins's fierce back-up band. Their non-stop performing took them through nearly every bar in the region, and the group developed into a tightly wound rock unit. It is therefore interesting that, as The Band, the group was known more for its reluctance in the live arena than for its live prowess. This was in part due to leader Robbie Robertson's stage jitters, which seemed to worsen as The Band's status swelled. ROCK OF AGES provides a telling account of what glorious heights The Band was capable of when it tore loose onstage.
  • Here the five members function as one shifting, interlocking force, summoning Americana, phantom soul, and barroom rockers with ease and freedom. Garth Hudson conjures pure organ voodoo with an impromptu instrumental, "The Genetic Method," before the band launches into the otherworldly "Chest Fever." Elsewhere the live document percolates with similarly inspired fervor. New Orleanian Allen Touissant must receive his share of the credit, as his horn arrangements pump and drive The Band's earth-drenched rock up from the dirt and into the stratosphere.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (5/25/01, p.81) - "...Among the extras for diehards to gorge on: a CD's worth of unreleased live outtakes from 1972's ROCK OF AGES, including 4 songs with Bob Dylan." - Rating: A

Q (7/01, p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Slicker and more contemporary [than previous releases]...a farewell to their heyday, bolstered by a superbly haphazard cover of 'Lovin' You Is Sweeter Than Ever'..."

Down Beat (10/01, p.66) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...They put across their best songs and a few covers with touches of ecstasy..."

Mojo (Publisher) (6/01, p.123) - "...A radically restructred live album, their past glories terrifically enhanced by the presence of Allen Toussaint's crack horn section...Now with an additional 10 tracks, the entire concert is presented as it was..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Rock of Ages [Deluxe Edition] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top