Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus

Album: The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mick Jagger's Introduction Of "Rock And Roll Circus" More Info... 0:25
2)    Entry Of The Gladiators More Info... 0:55
3)    Mick Jagger's Introduction Of "Jethro Tull" More Info... 0:11
4)    Song for Jeffrey Live More Info... 3:26
5)    Keith Richard's Introduction Of "The Who" More Info... 0:07
6)    A Quick One (While He's Away) Live More Info... 7:32
7)    Over The Waves More Info... 0:45
8)    Ain't That a Lot of Love Live More Info... 3:48
9)    Charlie Watts' Introduction Of "Marianne Faithful" More Info... 0:06
10)    Something Better Live More Info... 2:32
11)    Mick Jagger's And John Lennon's Introduction Of "The Dirty_Mac" More Info... 1:05
12)    Yer Blues Live More Info... 4:27
13)    Whole Lotta Yoko Live More Info... 4:49
14)    Jumpin' Jack Flash Live with John Lennon's Introduction of The Rolling Stones More Info... 3:35
15)    Parachute Woman Live More Info... 2:59
16)    No Expectations Live More Info... 4:13
17)    You Can't Always Get What You Want Live More Info... 4:24
18)    Sympathy for the Devil Live More Info... 8:49
19)    Salt of the Earth Live More Info... 4:57
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals); Keith Richards (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Brian Jones (electric & slide guitars); Bill Wyman (bass); Charlie Watts (drums).
  • The Dirty Mac: John Lennon (vocals, guitar); Eric Clapton (guitar); Keith Richards (bass); Mitch Mitchell (drums).
  • Additional performers: Jethro Tull, The Who, Taj Mahal, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono, Ivry Gitlis, Nicky Hopkins.
  • Producers: Jimmy Miller, Jody Klein, Lenne Allik.
  • Recorded live in England on December 10-11, 1968.
  • Includes liner notes by David Dalton.
  • Personnel: Keith Richards (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); John Lennon, Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar); Ian Anderson (vocals, flute); John Entwistle, Mick Jagger, Roger Daltrey, Taj Mahal, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono (vocals); Brian Jones (guitar, slide guitar); Eric Clapton, Jesse Ed Davis , Mick Abrahams (guitar); Ivry Gitlis (violin); Nicky Hopkins (keyboards); Clive Bunker, Keith Moon , Mitch Mitchell, Chuck Blackwell , Charlie Watts (drums); Rocky Dijon (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Jonathan Y.B. Porath.
  • Liner Note Author: David Dalton.
  • Recording information: 12/11/1968-12/12/1968.
  • Illustrator: Marvin Mattelson.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Alisa Ritz; Iris Keitel; Magadaline Voliatis; Roger Talkov.
  • THE ROLLING STONES ROCK AND ROLL CIRCUS documents a December 1968 show, originally intended for broadcast on British television, that featured clowns, acrobats, tigers, a fire-eater, the Rolling Stones and a menagerie of musician friends that included the Who, Eric Clapton, John Lennon and Yoko Ono. The show never aired. The Stones, unhappy with their performance, shelved it. A clip of the Who performing "A Quick One While He's Away" made it into the documentary "The Kids Are Alright," but the rest of the show remained on the shelf until the 1996 release of a laser disc, video, and this soundtrack.
  • The Stones put together this circus shortly after releasing BEGGAR'S BANQUET. Ringmaster/producer Mick Jagger recruited the above friends along with Marianne Faithfull, Taj Mahal and the relatively-unknown Jethro Tull. Twenty hours of filming resulted in a production that alternates between vaudevillian spectacle and magical rock and roll performances. Especially noteworthy is a blistering version of the Beatles' "Yer Blues" by the Dirty Mac, a supergroup featuring John Lennon on rhythm guitar and vocals, Eric Clapton on lead, Keith Richards on bass and Mitch Mitchell on drums.
  • The Stones went on at 1 in the morning on December 11, performing a set that included several songs from BEGGAR'S BANQUET and the not-yet-released "You Can't Always Get What You Want," sometimes playing a song two or three times to get it right for TV. Despite the numerous takes and the late hour, the Stones' intensity never flagged. This is, despite what they thought, a great performance. It builds up to a hypnotic "Sympathy For The Devil" and a rousing sing-along version of "Salt Of The Earth" that ends the circus.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/25/96, p.116) - "...The just-clowning-around vibe gives the proceedings an unpretentious feel that nicely evokes the era's spirit. Upped a notch for historical resonance." - Rating: A-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top