Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

'Round Midnight

Album: 'Round Midnight: The Complete Blue Note Singles (1947-1952)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Thelonious
2)    Suburban Eyes
3)    'Round About Midnight
4)    Well You Needn't
5)    Evonce
6)    Off Minor
7)    In Walked Bud
8)    Epistrophy
9)    Ruby My Dear
10)    Evidence
11)    Humph
12)    Misterioso
13)    All the Things You Are
14)    I Should Care
15)    I Mean You
16)    Monk's Mood
17)    Who Knows
18)    Nice Work If You Can Get It
19)    April In Paris
20)    Four In One
21)    Straight No Chaser
22)    Criss-Cross
23)    Eronel
24)    Ask Me Now
25)    Willow Weep For Me
1)    Skippy
2)    Let's Cool One
3)    Hornin' In
4)    Carolina Moon
5)    Evonce [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
6)    Suburban Eyes [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
7)    Nice Work If You Can Get It [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
8)    Ruby My Dear [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
9)    Well You Needn't [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
10)    April in Paris [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
11)    Introspection
12)    Who Knows [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
13)    I Should Care [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
14)    Misterioso [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
15)    Four in One [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
16)    Criss-Cross [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
17)    Ask Me Now [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
18)    Skippy [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
19)    Hornin' In [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
20)    Sixteen [Take 1] - (take)
21)    Sixteen [Take 2] - (take)
22)    I'll Follow You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano).
  • Liner Note Author: Kirk Silsbee.
  • Recording information: Apex Studios, New York, NY (05/30/1952); WOR STudios, New York, NY (05/30/1952); Apex Studios, New York, NY (07/02/1948); WOR STudios, New York, NY (07/02/1948); Apex Studios, New York, NY (07/23/1951); WOR STudios, New York, NY (07/23/1951); Apex Studios, New York, NY (10/15/1947); WOR STudios, New York, NY (10/15/1947); Apex Studios, New York, NY (10/24/1947); WOR STudios, New York, NY (10/24/1947); Apex Studios, New York, NY (11/21/1947); WOR STudios, New York, NY (11/21/1947).
  • Photographers: Francis Wolff; William Gottlieb.
  • The two-disc Thelonious Monk anthology, 2014's 'Round Midnight: The Complete Blue Note Singles (1947-1952)), compiles all of the influential jazz pianist's original 78 rpm singles released on the storied Blue Note label. These are Monk's first recordings under his own name, leading a group (not his debut recordings as a sideman with Coleman Hawkins). All of these recordings were later collected on various albums including Genius of Modern Music, Vol. 1., and other anthologies. Here, they are presented in chronological order and with alternate takes. Recorded in six separate sessions beginning in October of 1947 and ending in May of 1952, these sides showcase many of the songs Monk composed, and which would quickly become part of the jazz canon. Included are "Evidence," "Mysterioso," "Well, You Needn't," and others. While the focal point of these albums is Monk's innovative use of dissonance and unexpected, angular melodicism, the recordings also benefit from a veritable who's-who of modern jazz of the period. Backing Monk here, variously, are such luminaries as drummers Art Blakey and Max Roach, vibraphonist Milt Jackson, trumpeters Kenny Dorham and Idrees Sulieman, saxophonists Lou Donaldson and Lucky Thompson, and many more. While these recordings are widely available, it's both historically enlightening and aesthetically pleasing to have them collected so thoughtfully here. ~ Matt Collar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 'Round Midnight: The Complete Blue Note Singles (1947-1952) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top