Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Scorchers from the Early Years 1967-73

Album: Scorchers from the Early Years 1967-73
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hold Them
2)    Give It to Me
3)    You're Gonna Need Me
4)    Please Stop Your Lying
5)    Just Like a River/El Casino Royale
6)    Seeing Is Knowing/Kimble - (featuring Lee "Scratch" Perry)
7)    Upsetter/Upsetter Version, The
8)    Scorcher, The
9)    Musically
10)    Delilah
11)    Long Shot/Jackpot
12)    Jumpy Jumpy Girl
13)    Mama Look Deh
14)    Them a Laugh and a Kiki
15)    Private Number
16)    Wreck a Buddy
17)    Why Did You Leave Me
18)    It's Alright
19)    Only Yesterday/Danger Zone
20)    Reflections of Don D
1)    No Money, No Honey/Nevada Joe
2)    Movements (The Joe Gibbs Way)
3)    Jack of My Trade/Franco Nero
4)    Don't Touch Me/Doctor Feelgood
5)    Aguarius
6)    Love of the Common People [Original Ja Mix]
7)    United We Stand
8)    Gardener, The
9)    Hypocrite
10)    People of Today
11)    Maga Dog/Skanky Dog
12)    Them a Fi Get a Beaten/Reuben - (featuring Winston Wright/Larry McDonald)
13)    If I Had a Hammer/Hammering Version
14)    Have a Little Faith/Have Faith
15)    Ring, The
16)    Pretty Girl
17)    Baby I Need Your Loving
18)    Knock on Wood
19)    Honey in My Pocket/A So We Stay
20)    Chucky No Lucky/Waterhouse Rock
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Steve Barrow.
  • Recording information: Dynamic Sound Studio, Kingston, Jamaica; Joe Gibbs, Kingston, Jamaica; Wirl Studio, Kingston, Jamaica.
  • Photographer: Peter Simon.
  • A pioneering entrepreneur-producer during the early years of reggae, Joe Gibbs possessed particularly keen business instincts, successfully selling records out of his TV repair shop and later enlisting the talents of young upstarts producer Lee Perry and engineer Errol Thompson for his maiden recording sessions. During the rocksteady era, Gibb's Amalgamated emerged as one of the leading Jamaican labels, challenging the dominance of producer/label owners Duke Reid and Coxsone Dodd. SCORCHERS FROM THE EARLY YEARS 1967-73 compiles many superlative rocksteady hits of the era, including Errol Dunkley's heartfelt "Please Stop Your Lying" and the Roy Shirley classic "Hold Them," whose rollicking one-drop rhythms are finely accented by Lynn Taitt's chicken-scratch guitar playing.
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Reggae » Rock Steady
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top