Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

In Search of Space [UK Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. The Woman In Red

2. It's You

3. It's More Than You

4. I Just Called To Say I Love Yo

5. Love Light In Flight

6. Moments Aren't Moments

7. Weakness

8. Don't Drive Drunk

Performer Notes
  • Hawkwind: Dave Brock (vocals, guitar, audio generator); Nik Turner (guitar, flute & audio generator, saxophone); Dave Anderson (guitar, bass); Del Detmar (synthesizer); Terry Ollis (drums, percussion); Dik Mik (audio generator).
  • Remastered U.K. edition features three bonus recordings.
  • Personnel: Dave Brock (vocals, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar); Nik Turner (vocals, flute, alto saxophone); Dave Anderson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Huw (electric guitar); Del Dettmar (synthesizer); Terry Ollis (drums, percussion); Stacia (dancer).
  • Recording information: Rockfield, Monmouth, Wales (02/13/1972); The Roundhouse (02/13/1972).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Phil Franks; Robert Calvert.
  • On Hawkwind's second album, the seminal space-rockers began to assemble the pieces that would come to be regarded as their signature sound. While some elements of leader Dave Brock's folkie past were still extant (most notably the surprisingly poignant "We Took the Wrong Step Years Ago"), the heavy guitar riffs, wooshing electronic effects, and science-fiction lyrics that typified the eventually predominant Hawkwind style all came into play on IN SEARCH OF SPACE. Though bassist Lemmy (who would later found Motorhead) had yet to hop aboard the spaceship, Hawkwind's proto-metal tendencies were already apparent in the downright Black Sabbath-like "Master of the Universe." The acid-damaged "Adjust Me" and the monomaniacal, one-chord jam "You Shouldn't Do That" attest to the growing freakiness of the band, a quality that would only continue to endear them to a hardy contingent of fans as their far-out tendencies increased.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/22/72, p.58) - "...This is music for the astral apocalypse...their sound as well as their message is much closer to Pink Floyd than Black Sabbath, with a little bit of Sun Ra thrown in, even..."

-Lester Bangs

Q (7/96, p.138) - 3 Stars - Good - "...IN SEARCH OF SPACE...held two genuine classics in `You Shouldn't Do That' and `Master Of The Universe'..."

Mojo (Publisher) (6/96, p.121) - "...digitally remastered and lovingly repackaged by EMI Premier, [IN SEARCH OF SPACE is] complete with extra tracks and loads of squinty eye memorabilia..."

NME (Magazine) (4/27/96, p.51) - "...their own space-metal sound start[s] to emerge and `Master Of The Universe' is one of the greatest cosmic rockers ever..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.73) - "The band's second album saw Hawkwind mutate from acoustic Ladbroke Groovers into dystopian sci-fi rockers."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling In Search of Space [UK Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top