Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Second Winter

Album: Second Winter
# Song Title   Time
1)    Memory Pain
2)    I'm Not Sure
3)    Good Love, The
4)    Slippin' and Slidin'
5)    Miss Ann
6)    Johnny B. Goode
7)    Highway 61 Revisited
8)    I Love Everybody
9)    Hustled Down in Texas
10)    I Hate Everybody
11)    Fast Life Rider - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Also available in a 3-pack with JOHNNY WINTER and CAPTURED LIVE.
  • Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Edgar Winter (alto saxophone, piano, harpsichord, organ); Tommy Shannon, Dennis Collins (bass); John Turner (drums, percussion).
  • Includes liner notes by Johnny Winter.
  • Johnny Winter's second album for Columbia--duh--1970's SECOND WINTER is also notorious for a gimmicky sales device. When the recording sessions were over, Winter had enough material for an album and a half; rather than add a side of filler, Columbia simply promoted the album as the world's first three-sided album. (In a snarky review, Rolling Stone sarcastically gave the blank fourth side an in-depth discussion.)
  • The last of Winter's albums to feature his original backing band--drummer Uncle John Turner, bassist Tommy Shannon, and brother Edgar on keyboards and saxes--SECOND WINTER is a refinement of the blues-rock aesthetic of 1969's JOHNNY WINTER. Louder, harder, faster, and more reckless, this is to JOHNNY WINTER as Elvis Costello's THIS YEAR'S MODEL is to MY AIM IS TRUE: an album so phenomenal that it makes the debut, excellent though it is, sound weak in comparison. Highlights include the punky "I Hate Everybody" and a brilliant Hendrix-style deconstruction of Dylan's "Highway 61 Revisited."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.154) - Included in Rolling Stone's The 10 Best Reissues & Anthologies Of 2004 - "Winter - the ultimate white-blues sensation - made good on the hype with this late-'69 freak of a release..."

Uncut (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 - "SECOND WINTER features blistering versions of 'Highway 6`1 Revisited' and 'Johnny B Goode', and his guitar technique is clearly phenomenal."

Goldmine - "...[though the] original album was rather tough-sounding, the CD's increased treble adds the extra layer of icing, making this one sweet release...lean and hungry sounding..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Second Winter on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top