Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Secrets
# Song Title   Time
1)    Doin' It
2)    People Music
3)    Cantelope Island
4)    Spider
5)    Gentle Thoughts
6)    Swamp Rat
7)    Sansho Shima
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Herbie Hancock (acoustic, Fender Rhodes & Yamaha electric pianos, Clavinet, ARP, Moog & Oberheim synthesizers); Wah Wah Watson (vocals, synthesizer, guitar, bass); Bennie Maupin (soprano & tenor saxophones, saxello, lyricon, bass clarinet); Ray Parker Jr. (guitar, background vocals); Paul Jackson (bass); James Gadson (drums, background vocals); James Levi (drums); Kenneth Nash (percussion); Art Baldacci, Fred Dobbs, Don Kerr, Chris Mancini (background vocals).
  • Engineers: Fred Catero, David Rubinson, Michael Fusaro.
  • Recorded at Wally Heider Recording and Columbia Recording Studios, San Francisco, California.
  • This is a specially imported limited edition 20-bit digital remaster from Japan.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Having long since established his funk credentials, Herbie Hancock continues the direction of Head Hunters and its U.S. successors here, welding himself to the groove on electric keyboards while Bennie Maupin again shines sardonic beams of light on a variety of reeds. In "Doin' It," the most successful track, Hancock makes a more overt bid for the dancefloor, for the tune is basically one long irresistible groove with a very commercial-sounding bridge. Again Hancock chooses to recompose one of his standards; "Cantelope [sic] Island" is almost unrecognizable converted into a sauntering, swaggering thing. A streamlining process has set in -- the drumming has been simplified, some of the old high-voltage drive has been muted -- yet there are still enough enjoyable, intelligently musical things happening here to hold a Hancock admirer's attention. ~ Richard S. Ginell
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » General
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
Home » Music » General » R & B
People also searched for
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top