Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

See My Friends [International Version]

See My Fiends

Ray Davies, one of the UK's finest songwriters, releases 'See My Friends',
an album of classic Kinks songs turned into unique collaborations.

On this one of a kind album, Ray collaborates with a formidable selection
of artists on tracks from his incredible songwriting career, revisiting his
back catalogue and crafting new versions of his classic songs. Everyone from
Bruce Springsteen to Metallica features on this diverse collection of material.

Highlights include 'Days'/'This Time Tomorrow' with Mumford & Sons, 'Better
Things' with Bruce Springsteen, 'You Really Got Me' with Metallica and 'Tired
of Waiting For You' with Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody. "This project came
about almost by accident," says Davies of the project, which was kick-started
when he recorded a version of 'Till The End Of The Day' in the summer of 2009,
with the late, great Big Star singer Alex Chilton.

"With some tracks I had to appreciate the style of the other artists, otherwise
it would have sounded unbalanced. And I wanted the album to work as an entire
listening experience but each track had a life of its own," explains Ray.

Ray was happy to go where the music took him, in every sense: Oslo via Denmark,
Germany and Belgium to record with Metallica, New York to record with Jon Bon
Jovi, New Jersey for Bruce Springsteen, Chicago for Billy Corgan from Smashing
Pumpkins and his own north London base, the legendary KONK studios, for much of
the rest. "This record is well-travelled already," explains Ray.

1. Better Things - Feat. Bruce Springsteen
2. Celluloid Heroes - Feat. Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora
3. Days/this Time Tomorrow - Feat. Mumford & Sons
4. Long Way From Home - Feat. Lucinda Williams & The 88
5. You Really Got Me - Feat. Metallica
6. Lola Ray - Feat. Paloma Faith
7. Waterloo Sunset - Feat. Jackson Browne
8. 'til The End Of The Day - Feat. Alex Chilton & The 88
9. Dead End Street - Feat. Amy Macdonald
10. See My Friends - Feat. Spoon
11. This Is Where I Belong - Feat. Black Francis
12. David Watts - Feat. The 88
13. Tired Of Waiting - Feat. Gary Lightbody
14. All Day And All Of The Night/destroyer - Feat. Billy Corgan
Album: See My Friends [International Version]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Better Things More Info... 3:12
2)    Celluloid Heroes More Info... 5:18
3)    Days/This Time Tomorrow More Info... 4:17
4)    Long Way From Home More Info... 3:06
5)    You Really Got Me More Info... 2:15
6)    Lola More Info... 4:32
7)    Waterloo Sunset More Info... 4:06
8)    Till The End Of Day More Info... 2:40
9)    Dead End Street More Info... 3:29
10)    See My Friends More Info... 4:00
11)    This Is Where I Belong More Info... 3:02
12)    David Watts More Info... 2:20
13)    Tired Of Waiting For You More Info... 2:49
14)    All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer More Info... 3:54
15)    Victoria More Info... 3:19
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • A tribute album starring the man of honor himself, who also curated the whole affair, See My Friends is a bit of a curious creature. Certainly, Ray Davies' influence is so pervasive he could rope in a number of heavy hitters from a number of different generations. Jackson Browne and Bruce Springsteen sign up for duets; Metallica backs the legend on a rip through "You Really Got Me," while Spoon offers suitably spacy support on "See My Friends"; Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora harmonize on a languid "Celluloid Heroes," and Black Francis comes in to sing "This Is Where I Belong," a song he covered with gusto some 16 years earlier. As it turns out, "This Is Where I Belong" provides a good indication of the energy level of See My Friends in general: the older dudes are comfortable playing with Ray while the newer dudes are respectful, delivering amiably mannered performances. It's all pleasant enough, but it's hard not to wish that more of the record had the kick of "Til The End of the Day," where the late Alex Chilton seems genuinely enthused to sing with his idol. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.72) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The highlight of this collaborative set is 'Day/This Time Tomorrow,' a medley of Kinks classics....Davies songbook is so deep, this could be a box set."

Clash (magazine) - "Springsteen is on fine form on 'Better Things'....Alex Chilton is the beating heart of ''Til The End Of The Day.'"

Record Collector (magazine) (p.80) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Jackson Browne clearly got the winner's ticket and the honour of accompanying Ray on 'Waterloo Sunset.' It's genuinely beautiful, Davies restricting himself to harmony back-up while Browne takes the lead with reserve and reverence."

Uncut (magazine) (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] recontextualizes familiar material, most successfully on Spoon's spacey version of 'See My Friends'."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling See My Friends [International Version] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top