Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Selections from Road Atlas

Album: Selections from Road Atlas: 1998-2011 [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Half a Smidge
2)    Waitomo
3)    Griptape
4)    Glowing Heart of the World
5)    Entrenando a los Tigres
6)    All the Pretty Horses
7)    Inch by Inch
8)    Lost in Space
9)    Boletos
10)    Morro, El
11)    Gift X-Change
12)    Detroit Steam
13)    Ghostwriter
14)    Cachaa
15)    Crystal Frontier [Original Version]
16)    Man Made Lake
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Fred Mills .
  • Photographers: Keith Nealy; Patrick Messina ; Jay Kuehner; Patrice Rolle; Hanka Fischer.
  • Selections from Road Atlas: 1998-2011 is another example of how much care and thought Calexico take in presenting their music to their fans. A distillation of the limited-edition vinyl set of eight tour-only releases -- itself a project the band embarked on because fans requested it -- it plays like a travelogue through Calexico's lesser-known musical territory, since many of these songs were never released anywhere else. The whispery, thoughtful Americana of "Half a Smidge" and "Griptape," culled from 2005's The Book and the Canal, share a link with the official Calexico albums surrounding it, Feast of Wire and Garden Ruin; the flamenco-surf of "Glowing Heart of the World," from 98-99 Road Map, evokes the band's earliest days. The collection favors one of the finest tour releases, Aerocalexico, including four tracks from it, including fan favorites such as the holiday song "Gift X-Change," the hypnotic take on the traditional "All the Pretty Horses," and the original version of "Crystal Frontier." However, none of the tracks here could be called predictable; the version of "Lost in Space" (from Scraping) finds the band rocking out, while "Detroit Steam" (from Tool Box) could be from a blaxploitation movie soundtrack. Selections from Road Atlas: 1998-2011 does its job well: not only will it have fans who haven't heard all of the tour albums hankering for more, it also reaffirms what a prolific, and consistent, bunch Joey Burns, John Convertino, and company are. ~ Heather Phares
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.103) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It is majestic music; sometimes futuristic, often traditional. It's a soundtrack for now, which accounts for the tears."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Post Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Selections from Road Atlas: 1998-2011 [Slipcase] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top