Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Shared Secrets

Album: Shared Secrets
# Song Title   Time
1)    5 Will Get Ya 10
2)    Blackfoot
3)    S.F.C.B.
4)    Secrets of Love
5)    Spookarella
6)    Beyond Forever
7)    Phantom of the City
8)    Just Suppose
9)    Why Not?
10)    Go Down Moses
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: George Cables (piano, electric piano, synthesizer);
  • Larry Klimas (saxophone, flute); Bennie Maupin (saxophone, bass clarinet); Gary Bartz (saxophone); Ralf Rickert (trumpet, flugelhorn); Alphonso Johnson, Abe Laboriel (bass); Vinnie Coliauta, Peter Erskine (drums); Luis Conte, Pat Murphy (percussion).
  • Engineers: Patrick "Michael" Murphy, William "Fundi" Bonner.
  • Recorded at Sounds On Rome Studios, Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Patrick Michael Murphy and Chip Stern.
  • Personnel: George Cables (piano, electric piano); Larry Kilmas (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Bennie Maupin (bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Gary Bartz (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Ralph Rickert (trumpet, flugelhorn); Peter Erskine (drums, shaker); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Pat Murphy (congas, claves, cowbells, shaker, triangle, wind chime); Luis Conte (timbales).
  • Liner Note Authors: Chip Stern; Patrick Michael Murphy.
  • Recording information: Sounds On Rome, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Arranger: George Cables.
  • This intriguing set for pianist George Cables is in some ways a throwback to the 1970s. Although he has often played hard bop in recent times, in the '70s he was more eclectic, so he is heard on both acoustic and electric pianos. The music (all his originals except for the spiritual "Go Down Moses") is soulful and sometimes funky, hinting at 1970s fusion and pop in spots while still swinging. Cables is heard with two different rhythm sections (either bassist Abraham Laboriel and drummer Peter Erskine or bassist Alphonso Johnson and drummer Vinny Coliauta) with guest appearances from Bennie Maupin on bass clarinet and altoist Gary Bartz. This small label release is worth searching for. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Shared Secrets on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top