How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Shine on Brightly

Album: Shine on Brightly
# Song Title   Time
1)    Quite Rightly So
2)    Shine on Brightly
3)    Skip Softly (My Moonbeams)
4)    Wish Me Well
5)    Rambling On
6)    Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone)
7)    In Held 'Twas in I: Glimpses of Nirvana
8)    In Held 'Twas in I: Twas Tea Time at the Circus
9)    In Held 'Twas in I: In the Autumn of My Madness
10)    In Held 'Twas in I: Look to Your Soul
11)    In Held 'Twas in I: Grand Finale
12)    Il Tuo Diamante (Shine on Brightly) [Italian Version] - (mono)
13)    Quite Rightly So
14)    In the Wee Small Hours of Sixpence
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Procol Harum: Gary Brooker (vocals, piano); Robin Trower (guitar); Matthew Fisher (organ); Dave Knights (bass); B.J. Wilson (drums).
  • Producers: Denny Cordell, Tony Visconti.
  • Reissue producer: Tony Rounce.
  • Includes liner notes by Henry-Scott Irvine.
  • Lyricist: Keith Reid.
  • Personnel: Gary Brooker (vocals, piano); Robin Trower (guitar); David Knights (bass guitar); B.J. Wilson (percussion).
  • Audio Remasterer: Ben Wiseman.
  • Recording information: Advision Studios, London; De Lane Lea Studios, London, UK; Olympic Studios, Barnes, London, UK.
  • Procol Harum's second album garnered high expectations, as it arrived on the heels of the overwhelming success of the single "A Whiter Shade of Pale." By the time of SHINE ON BRIGHTLY, the classic lineup of the band was fully in place. Gary Brooker's blues-based singing was the perfect foil for the majestic sweep of Procol Harum's two-keyboard attack (an approach employed by Dylan in the mid-'60s, and then fully explored by the Band) and Robin Trower's stinging guitar. The title number has retained its staggering beauty and power, undiminished over the decades. Symphonic in scope, the first six songs are all in the three-to-four minute range and mix the earthiness of R&B with the clean lines of classical music. "In Held Twas in I" is an ambitious sidelong piece that clocks in at nearly 18 minutes. Where other progressive outfits of the era following the Beatles' SGT. PEPPER'S album succumbed to music as fashion, Procol Harum backed up its inclinations with solid content.
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[I] its heart, the 17-minute 'In Held 'Twas In I,' a glorious mix of Brooker's extraordinary arrangement and Keith Reid's unique lyrics..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Shine on Brightly on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top