Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Shot Through the Heart


Product Description
Product Details


1. Shot Through The Heart

2. I Know A Heartache Whe I See One

3. Don't Make Me Over

4. You Rember Me

5. Sign On The Window

6. I'm Restless

7. Tell Me Just One More Time

8. When The Feeling Comes Around

9. Frankie In The Rain

10. Hard Times, Come Again No More

Performer Notes
  • This 1979 release from sultry American pop singer Jennifer Warnes features ten tracks.
  • Personnel: Jennifer Warnes (vocals, keyboards); Blondie Chaplin (vocals, guitar); Kenny Edwards, Brock Walsh (vocals, keyboards); Brian Russell, Mike Finnigan, Penny Nichols, Rob Fraboni (vocals); Andrew Gold (guitar, keyboards, drums); Howard "Buzz" Feiten (guitar); Bill Elliott, Doug Livingston (piano); Mark Olson , Marty Grebb, Walt Richmond (keyboards); Denny Seiwell, Jim Gordon , Ricky Fataar, Bob Glaub (drums); Chico Goldsmith (percussion).
  • Arrangers: Jennifer Warnes; Bill Elliott Swing Orchestra.
  • Having compromised on her Arista debut and gotten a hit single for her trouble, Jennifer Warnes took charge of the recording of her second Arista album, co-producing it and writing three songs, including the title track. It was hard to miss the point when Warnes covered Dionne Warwick's 1963 hit "Don't Make Me Over" (written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David) that she was finished with having people tell her what to do. On her own, her taste was impeccable, her song choices including the work of Jesse Winchester, Bob Dylan, and Stephen Foster, and her own songwriting was good, too. She also managed to satisfy the commercial expectations aroused by her previous album, with "I Know a Heartache When I See One" rising into the country Top Ten and the pop and adult contemporary Top 40. (She also made it into all three charts with "Don't Make Me Over" and into the pop and AC charts with "When the Feeling Comes Around.") She proved an adept producer, achieving a smooth pop/rock sound. With session stars like Andrew Gold aboard, Warnes succeeded in making what sounded like the great lost Linda Ronstadt album. Granted, she handled strong material like Dylan's "Sign on the Window" better than Ronstadt could, but Ronstadt had originated this kind of '70s L.A. country/pop/rock style, and it was impossible to do it without sounding like you were copying her. Maybe that was why, despite three chart singles, the album wasn't a big commercial success. In turn, the disappointing sales may have injured Warnes' relationship with Arista. Instead of releasing another new album, Arista followed with a best-of, and Warnes didn't release another new album until 1987. ~ William Ruhlmann
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Shot Through the Heart on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top