Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Show of Strength *

Album: Show of Strength *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Count on You
2)    Take a Chance on Me, Baby
3)    Storm Warning
4)    Can You Read Between the Lines?
5)    Cross Eyed Woman
6)    Little Juke Joint
7)    24 Hour Blues
8)    Valley of Tears
9)    Since I Been Loving You
10)    I Want to Get You Back
11)    What Does It Take to Please You?
12)    Feel Like Going Home
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Michael Burks (vocals, guitar); Wayne Sharp (piano, organ, background vocals); Chuck "Popcorn" Louden (drums, background vocals); Terrence Grayson (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Blaise Barton.
  • Liner Note Author: Bruce Iglauer.
  • Recording information: Joyride Studios, Chicago, IL.
  • Photographer: Paul Natkin.
  • The sudden passing of 54-year-old guitarist Michael Burks in 2012, between the recording and release of this, his final album, casts an undeniable shadow over it. Burks was prepared to approve the final mixes and track order when he was struck by a fatal heart attack when arriving stateside after a European tour. It's a tragic and untimely end to a bluesman who was in his prime, as evidenced by the impassioned performance and superior songs on his fourth Alligator studio waxing. Burks' husky build was mirrored in his similarly styled vocals and meaty guitar tone, all of which are in full force throughout these dozen tracks. Like his previous disc, this features his road band whose keyboard player, Wayne Sharp, is a major component of Burks' soulful sound. From the funky bassline and sly lyrics of "Can You Read Between the Lines?" to the slide-guitar rock thump of "Cross Eyed Woman" (perhaps a nod to Free, whose music Burks has covered in the past) and the straight-ahead shuffle of "What Does It Take to Please You?," he navigates a lot of musical territory. Both covers and originals boast strong melodies, which Burks does justice to with tough vocals and full-bodied, often thunderous guitar solos from which his "ironman" nickname was derived. The closing version of Charlie Rich's classic gospel "Feel Like Going Home" ends this set on a somber note, made all the more melancholy by Burks' demise. The album's extended length is its only detriment (it would be more potent trimmed by a few tracks), but since there will be no more music from the guitarist, that criticism is mitigated by the unfortunate circumstances. Burks is truly at the top of his game here, which makes Show of Strength such a bittersweet finale from one of contemporary blues' most magnetic, powerful, and committed artists. ~ Hal Horowitz
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.97) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith full-on performances of originals like 'Cross Eyed Woman'....Burks had developed a trenchantly original voice..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Show of Strength * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top