SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Singles [2007]

Album: The Singles [2007]
# Song Title   Time
1)    London Calling
2)    Rock the Casbah
3)    Should I Stay or Should I Go
4)    I Fought the Law
5)    (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
6)    Magnificent Seven, The
7)    Bankrobber
8)    Call Up, The
9)    Complete Control
10)    White Riot
11)    Remote Control
12)    Tommy Gun
13)    Clash City Rockers
14)    English Civil War (Johnny Comes Marching Home)
15)    Hitsville UK
16)    Know Your Rights
17)    This Is England
18)    This Is Radio Clash
19)    Train in Vain
20)    Groovy Times
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Clash: Joe Strummer, Mick Jones (vocals, guitar); Paul Simonon (bass); Topper Headon (drums).
  • Producers include: Mickey Foote, Lee Perry, Bill Price, Sandy Pearlman, Guy Stevens.
  • Audio Mixer: Glyn Johns.
  • Authors: Chris Shiflett; Damon Albarn; Irvine Welsh; Danny Boyle; Stuart Pearce ; John Squire; Pete Townshend; Shane MacGowan; Sharleen Spiteri; Tim Burgess; Bernard Rhodes; Bernard Sumner; Anthony Roman; Jimi Goodwin; Bobby Gillespie; Richard Archer; Carl Bar?t.
  • Photographers: Bob Gruen; Caroline Coon.
  • Amidst all the punk history and revolutionary rhetoric, it's easy to forget that the Clash was one hell of a singles band, capable of releasing one propulsively catchy song after another. This collection, which moves chronologically from the band's early days at the heart of the UK punk movement to the funk experimentation of its latter career, serves as both stunning career resume and perfect introduction for the neophyte. The raging, righteous anger and blazing guitars of punk anthems "White Riot" and "Complete Control" rub shoulders with the reggae rhythms of "White Man in Hammersmith Palais."
  • Rap and funk rear their heads (in a distinctly British way) on "The Magnificent Seven" and "Radio Clash." Manic, post-punk rockabilly accompanies Joe Strummer's state-of-the-union address on "Know Your Rights," and the Mick Jones-sung "Should I Stay or Should I Go" makes a case for itself as a garage-rock classic on the order of "Louie Louie." For all the political smarts the group consistently displayed in its lyrics, THE SINGLES shows that the band's music was never less than enthralling. No matter how stern the Marxist theories to which the band members subscribed in their early days, they could never resist an old-fashioned rock & roll hook.
Professional Reviews
Q (p.129) - Ranked #1 in Q Magazine's "10 Essential Reissues Of 2006."

Q (5/02 SE, p.135) - 3 stars out of 5 - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums" - "...The most album-worthy of the early albums and deserve at-length listens..."

Alternative Press (3/00, pp.74-5) - 5 out of 5 - "...for non-completists...collects the a-sides - showcasing the band's every stylistic move, from '1977' (sheer ferocity) to 'Train In Vain' (soulish ebullience)..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Singles [2007] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top