Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Singles Collection

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock

Singles Collection

Artist: Girlschool (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $28.62 $18.72   Save $9.90 (35%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Lemon Recordings
Album: Singles Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Take It All Away
2)    It Could Be Better
3)    Emergency
4)    Furniture Fire
5)    Nothing to Lose
6)    Baby Doll
7)    Race with the Devil
8)    Take It All Away
9)    Yeah Right
10)    Hunter, The
11)    Please Don' Touch (Headgirl)
12)    Bomber
13)    Hit and Run
14)    Tonight
15)    Tush
16)    C'mon Let's Go
17)    Tonight - (live)
18)    Demolition - (live)
1)    Wildlife
2)    Don't Call It Love
3)    Don't Stop
4)    1 2 3 4 Rock n Roll
5)    Tush
6)    Don't Call It Love
7)    1 2 3 4 Rock n Roll
8)    20th Century Boy
9)    Breaking All the Rules
10)    Like It Like That
11)    Burning in the Heat
12)    Surrender
13)    I'm the Leader of the Gang
14)    Never Too Late
15)    I'm the Leader of the Gang - (Extended mix)
16)    Head Over Heals
17)    Action
18)    Nothing to Lose
19)    Not for Sale

Performer Notes
  • Although the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement was certainly male-dominated, that's not to say females didn't have their say too, as evidenced by the emergence of Girlschool at this time. Picture a heavier Runaways and you're not far off from the sound/style/approach Girlschool specialized in. And with their early releases becoming increasingly difficult to locate nowadays, a compilation such as the 2007 double-disc set The Singles comes in quite handy. The collection weighs in at a hefty 37 tracks total, and you'll quickly discover that Girlschool rocked just as ferociously as their male counterparts, and that the majority of their tunes had more in common with punk (in other words, few extended solos or fairy/dragon-esque lyrics are included). What you get is straight-to-the-point, kickass rock & roll -- as proven by a pair of tunes that see Girlschool paired with Mot”rhead ("Please Don't Touch" and a cover of Mot”rhead's "Bomber"). No ballads here, folks -- just loud and proud rock & roll, as heard on such standouts as "Take It All Away," "Emergency," "Nothing to Lose," and "C'mon Let's Go." While the world seemed transfixed by such melodic radio-friendly female rockers as Pat Benatar and Blondie during the early '80s, Girlschool were purposely keeping things gritty and raucous -- as heard throughout The Singles. ~ Greg Prato

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:24 April, 2007
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Singles Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.