SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Sir John Alot of Merrie Englandes Musyk Thyng & ye Grene Knyghte [Remaster]

Album: Sir John Alot of Merrie Englandes Musyk Thyng & ye Grene Knyghte [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Earle of Salisbury
2)    Trees They Do Grow Hi
3)    Lady Goes to Church
4)    Morgana
5)    Transfusion
6)    Forty-Eight
7)    My Dear Boy
8)    White Fishes
9)    Sweet Potato
10)    Seven Up
11)    Earle of Salisbury (Alternate Take 4)
12)    Transfusion (Alternate Take 2)
13)    Forty-Eight (Alternate Take 1)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recorded at Sound Techniques, London, England. Includes liner notes by Colin Harper.
  • The remastered U.K. version features three additional tracks.
  • CD contains 3 bonus tracks.
  • The title of 1969's SIR JOHNALOT… is actually long and wordy in the finest Joycean fashion. Whatever you call it, this collection of traditional-style songs and ballads is John Renbourn's finest solo album. Acoustic six and 12-string guitars, played in Renbourn's inimitable style, accompany period instruments, reeds, and even a bit of sitar and Indian percussion.
  • Renbourn's remarkable skills are on display throughout, but this is not merely a display of chops. The playing is entirely in service to the song. When Renbourn reels off a dazzlingly fleet-fingered solo on a piece like "White Fishes" or "Sweet Potato," it's because that's what the song needed. The album gets progressively jazzier as it goes on, until the closing "Seven Up" suggests Django Reinhardt set loose in a medieval fair. Wonderful stuff, and one of the finest guitar-instrumental albums ever.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » British Folk
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top