Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Siren [Remaster]

Album: Siren [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Love Is the Drug
2)    End of the Line
3)    Sentimental Fool
4)    Whirlwind
5)    She Sells
6)    Could It Happen to Me?
7)    Both Ends Burning
8)    Nightingale
9)    Just Another High
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Roxy Music: Bryan Ferry (vocals, keyboards); Phil Manzanera (guitar); Edwin Johnson (strings, keyboards, synthesizer); Andrew Mackay (oboe, saxophone); John Gustafson (bass); Paul Thompson (drums).
  • Recorded at Air Studios, London, England in 1975.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
  • Roxy Music's fifth album, SIREN, is a return to the form of their first couple of records--that is, it mixes astonishing material with some that, well, isn't quite as good. This is not to say that the band abandoned sophistication, however. If anything, they turned the suaveness up a notch--tracks like "Sentimental Fool" and the brilliant "Just Another High" both, albeit in different ways, suggest the path the band would follow before arriving at their masterpiece, AVALON. For those keeping track of these things, the cover model on this album is Jerry Hall.
  • "Love Is The Drug," the album's first track, is a classic. A story-song that could describe the beginning of the relationship that dissolves in "Dance Away" (from MANIFESTO, the band's next studio album), it is built on solid rhythm grooves with added flourishes of bright guitar. Bryan Ferry's vocals are more expressive than usual on "Both Ends Burning," a fairly sedate, but insistent dance groove with synthesizers weaving in and out of the propulsive bass line. SIREN, as the middle album in the band's studio career, includes pointers to both their past and future and is an excellent introduction to the worlds of Roxy Music.
Professional Reviews
Q (9/99, pp.122-3) - 4 stars (out of 5) - "...their glossiest gorgeously epic as 'Sentimental Fool' and as percussively hedonistic as 'Both Ends Burning'..."

Vibe (12/99, p.164) - Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century

Mojo (Publisher) (9/99, p.120) - "...a slick but largely convincing set of performances that owed little to the original Roxy spirit but suited Ferry's lounge lizard persona to a tee."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Siren [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top