Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Skyhooks Collection

Album: Skyhooks Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Living in the 70's
2)    You Just Like Me Cos I'm Good in Bed
3)    Balwyn Calling
4)    Horror Movie
5)    Smut
6)    Carlton
7)    Toorak Cowboy
8)    All My Friends Are Getting Married
9)    Ego Is Not a Dirty Word
10)    Million Dollar Riff
11)    This Is My City
12)    Mercedes Ladies
13)    Forging Ahead
14)    Let It Rock
15)    Crazy Heart
16)    Blue Jeans
17)    Party to End All Parties
18)    BBB BBB Boogie
19)    Women in Uniform
1)    Jukebox in Siberia
2)    Tall Timber
3)    Tigersnake Kiss
4)    Kooyong Dollar
5)    Kickback
6)    Happy Hippy Hut
7)    My Girleen
8)    Black & White Bar
9)    1976 Guitar
10)    Westgate Light
11)    Powdertown
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This two-disc, 30-track anthology is a well-chosen collection covering the entire career of ironic Australian glam-rockers Skyhooks, featuring their singnature song "Living in the '70s" and including a bonus disc of previously unreleased material.
  • Personnel: Bob "Bongo" Starkie (guitar).
  • Audio Mixers: Ern Rose; Greg Henderson.
  • Liner Note Author: Ed Nimmervoll.
  • Recording information: AAV Studios, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); Gotham Studios, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); Metropoli Studios, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); Ormund Hall, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); Sing sing Studios, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); TCS STudios, Melbourne, Australia (07/1974-08/1994); The Record Plant, Sausalito, CA (07/1974-08/1994); Trafalgar Studios, Sydney, Australia (07/1974-08/1994).
  • Photographer: John Woudstra.
  • Now virtually forgotten outside (and sometimes even within) their native Australia, Skyhooks were once one of that country's most successful, influential, and controversial bands -- a true antipodean phenomenon for much of the 1970s! But because the group's dozen Top 40 hits often relied on Aussie-centric cultural references and insular comedy, history eventually revealed that they shockingly consisted of rather ordinary music, made extraordinary by the charismatic characters involved -- androgynous lead singer Graeme "Shirley" Strachan, in particular. This startling realization is certainly substantiated by this 30-song, two-disc survey containing most all of the signature songs ("Living in the 70's," "Toorak Cowboy," "Ego Is Not a Dirty Word," "You Just Like Me Cos I'm Good in Bed," "Horror Movie," "Million Dollar Riff," "Women in Uniform," etc.) found on Skyhooks' five 1970s studio efforts, along with a wealth of non-album singles and outtakes. Obviously, you just had to be there (and then), because the band's open parody of the era's reigning glitter rock trends ultimately amounted to surprisingly watered down, pre-new wave pop music, out of which not even bassist and songwriter Greg Macainsh's cleverly amusing lyrics always manage to stand the test of time, so many years and a few generations removed from their original context. Ironically, the same could be said for the 11 cuts contained on disc two, which were recorded between 1990 and 1994, when Skyhooks reunited their classic lineup with a view of touring behind a new album, but threw in the towel after a couple of new singles ("Jukebox in Siberia," "Tall Timber") failed to spark enough consumer interest (note: these same sessions would be released separately in 1999 as The Lost Album). All this being said, there's no doubt that The Collection provides a very thorough and arguably definitive Skyhooks primer, but listeners are hereby forewarned that the band's historical importance now greatly overshadows its musical legacy. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Skyhooks Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top