Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Smokin' at the Half Note [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]

Album: Smokin' at the Half Note [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    No Blues More Info... 12:58
2)    If You Could See Me Now More Info... 8:21
3)    Unit 7 More Info... 6:50
4)    Four On Six More Info... 6:46
5)    What's New? More Info... 6:13
6)    Willow Weep For Me More Info... 9:14
7)    Portrait Of Jennie More Info... 3:28
8)    The Surrey With The Fringe On Top More Info... 6:12
9)    Oh, You Crazy Moon More Info... 5:34
10)    Misty More Info... 6:58
11)    Impressions 1965/Live In New York More Info... 5:06
Product Details


1. No Blues

2. If You Could See Me Now

3. Unit 7

4. Four On Six

5. What's New

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Wes Montgomery (guitar); Wynton Kelly (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); Jimmy Cobb (drums).
  • Recorded live at the Half Note, New York, New York and Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey in June and September 1965.
  • Personnel: Wes Montgomery (guitar); Wes Montgomery; Wynton Kelly (piano); Paul Chambers (bass instrument); Jimmy Cobb (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Chuck Taylor; Jim Fisch.
  • Recording information: The Half Note, New York, NY (06/??/1965-09/22/1965); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (06/??/1965-09/22/1965).
  • Photographers: Raymond Ross; Chuck Stewart.
  • This album is the live equivalent of the INCREDIBLE GUITAR album--Wes Montgomery cooking with a seasoned and communicative piano trio on a set of jazz compositions, standards, and original material. INCREDIBLE GUITAR has Tommy Flanagan, Percy Heath, and Albert Heath; SMOKIN' has the Wynton Kelly trio, with Paul Chambers on bass, and Jimmy Cobb on drums. Not only had the same trio served as one of Miles Davis' great rhythm sections, but Kelly was considered by many to be the most gifted accompanist of his time.
  • Miles Davis's "No Blues" is in fact an utterly relentless blues, with Montgomery nailing each single-note, octave, or block-chord phrase with passionate conviction. Bassist Sam Jones's "Unit 7" is another uptempo blues. "Four on Six," which debuted on INCREDIBLE GUITAR, gets an edited version of the head and a slightly faster treatment overall. Kelly takes the lead on the first ballad, "If You Could See Me Now," Montgomery on the second, framing the melody to "What's New" in octaves over Cobb's late-night brushes. The excellent sound quality and almost complete lack of audience noise throughout makes SMOKIN' feel like eavesdropping of the best kind.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Smokin' at the Half Note [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top