Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Solo Piano: Standards (Part 2)

Album: Solo Piano: Standards (Part 2)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Monk's Dream Live More Info... 4:01
2)    But Beautiful Live More Info... 6:17
3)    Blue Monk Live More Info... 4:29
4)    Ask Me Now Live More Info... 5:18
5)    Thinking Of You Live More Info... 5:35
6)    Yesterdays Live More Info... 7:42
7)    Dusk in Sandi Live More Info... 5:45
8)    It Could Happen To You Live More Info... 4:33
9)    'Round Midnight Live More Info... 7:22
10)    So In Love Live More Info... 8:21
11)    How Deep Is The Ocean Live More Info... 8:08
12)    Oblivion Live More Info... 3:58
13)    Brazil Live More Info... 3:04
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is the companion CD to ORIGINALS: SOLO PIANO PART ONE (9029).
  • Solo performer: Chick Corea (piano).
  • Recorded live between November 15 & 30, 1999. Includes liner notes by Chick Corea.
  • Personnel: Chick Corea (piano).
  • Recording information: 11/15/1999-11/30/1999.
  • This second volume of Chick Corea's 1999 solo piano recordings is devoted to standard songs and jazz classics. Naturally, Corea draws mostly on the compositions of piano legends Thelonious Monk and Bud Powell. His tonally intricate, rhythmic style lends itself to some bold solo interpretations of well-known Monk originals like "Monk's Dream," the quirky "Blue Monk," and the signature ballad "'Round Midnight."
  • The Bud Powell tunes "Dusk in Sandi" and "Oblivion" are interpreted equally strikingly, but with a gently tragic sense befitting their composer. Corea also chooses some cherished standards with which to let his unique imagination run free. Of these, Jerome Kern's "Yesterdays" and Irving Berlin's "How Deep is the Ocean" are the most stunning examples of the pianist's mastery of interpretation. The crystalline sound of the piano and the live audience response makes this set as appealing as its predecessor.
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (11/00, p.71) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Demonstrates how profoundly Corea understands the legacies of Thelonious Monk and Bud Powell....transforming familiar refrains into personal statements abrim with fresh harmonic perspectives and rampant lyricism..."

JazzTimes (11/00, pp.77-8) - "...Reveals aspects of Corea's improvisational strengths..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Solo Piano: Standards (Part 2) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top