Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Some Time in New York City/Live Jam [Remastered] [Remaster] [Parental Advisory]

New or Used: $26.44
Album: Some Time in New York City/Live Jam [Remastered] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Woman Is the Nigger of the World
2)    Sisters, O Sisters
3)    Attica State
4)    Born in a Prison
5)    New York City
6)    Sunday Bloody Sunday
7)    Luck of the Irish, The
8)    John Sinclair
9)    Angela
10)    We're All Water
11)    Cold Turkey - (live, bonus track)
12)    Don't Worry Kyoko (Mummy's Only Looking for Her Hand in the Snow) - (live, bonus track)
13)    Well Baby Please Don't Go - (live, bonus track)
14)    Listen the Snow Is Falling - (bonus track)
15)    Happy Xmas (War Is Over) - (bonus track)
Product Details


1. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World

2. Sisters O Sisters

3. Attica State

4. Born In A Prison

5. New York City

6. Sunday Bloody Sunday

7. The Luck Of The Irish

8. John Sinclair

9. Angela

10. We're All Water

11. Cold Turkey (Live At The Lyceum Ballroom, 1969)

12. Don't Worry Kyoko (Live At The Lyceum Ballroom, 1969)

13. Well (Baby Please Don't Go (Live At The Fillmore East, 1971)

14. Listen, The Snow Is Falling

15. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: John Lennon (vocals, guitar, National guitar); John Lennon; Ian Underwood (vocals, keyboards, wind); Bob Harris (vocals, keyboards); Frank Zappa (guitar, background vocals); Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); Bobby Keys (saxophone); Nicky Hopkins, Billy Preston (keyboards); Don Preston (synthesizer); Jim Pons (bass instrument, background vocals); Gary VanScyoc (bass instrument); Jim Keltner, Rick Frank (drums, percussion); Keith Moon (drums); Yoko Ono (vocals, drums); Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman (vocals); Stan Bronstein (flute, saxophone); Adam Ippolito (piano, organ); John Labosca (piano); Aynsley Dunbar (drums).
  • Audio Remixer: Paul Hicks.
  • Recording information: London, England; New York, NY.
  • Photographers: Bob Gruen; Joe Sia.
  • Arrangers: John Lennon; Yoko Ono.
  • While Lennon claimed to have always been politically minded, given his working-class upbringing in class-conscious England ("I've been satirizing the system since my childhood," he once mused), rock-pop sensibilities, clever wordplay, or matters of the heart usually took precedence in his musical output. But here Lennon and Yoko, accompanied by New York's Elephant's Memory, sing and scream freely against sexism in "Woman Is the Nigger Of The World" and "Sisters, O Sisters." They protest incarceration in "John Sinclair," "Attica State," and "Born In A Prison," colonialism in "Sunday Bloody Sunday" and "The Luck Of The Irish," and racism in "Angela."
  • The richness of Phil Spector's production fills out the danceable grooves on nearly every track. Also featured is Lennon's paean to his adopted home, "New York City," with allusions to doping clerics and transsexual rockers as well as the highly quotable line, "What a bad-ass city!" On the bonus disc, Lennon and Ono get it on with Zappa and the Mothers in live sets from London and New York. Things heat up considerably with "Cold Turkey," freak out with "Don't Worry Kyoko," and veer into the ridiculous with audience participation on "Scumbag." SOMETIME IN NEW YORK CITY is some of the groovin'-est, most tuneful agit-prop ever committed to disc.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Some Time in New York City/Live Jam [Remastered] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top