COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

Something for Grace


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Regina Carter (violin); Nicki Richards (vocals); Michael Bearden (piano, organ, keyboards, drum programming); Werner "Vana" Gierig (piano, synthesizers); Oriente Lopez (piano); Jane Getter (guitar); Kenny Davis (acoustic bass); Tracey Wormworth (bass); Rocky Bryant, Lewis Nash (drums); Johnny Almendra, Mayra Casales (percussion).
  • Producers: Arif Mardin, Regina Carter, Yves Beauvais, Werner Gierig, Oriente Lopez, Michael Bearden.
  • Engineers: Michael O'Reilly, Mike Krowiak, Scott Ansell, Michael Bearden.
  • Recorded at Sorcerer Sound Studios, New York, New York.
  • All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
  • Personnel: Regina Carter (violin); Nicki Richards (vocals); Jane Getter (guitar); Michael Bearden (piano, organ, keyboards, drum programming); Werner "Vana" Gierig, Oriente Lopez (piano, synthesizer); Kenny Davis (acoustic bass); Tracy Wormworth (electric bass); Lewis Nash (drums, cymbals); Rocky Bryant (drums); Andreu Johnny Almendra (cymbals, percussion); Mayra Casales (percussion); Joe Mardin (loops).
  • Audio Mixers: Michael Bearden; Michael O'Reilly.
  • Recording information: Sorcerer Sound Studios; NYC.
  • Photographer: Darryl Turner.
  • Arrangers: Michael Bearden; Arif Mardin.
  • Regina Carter (who has a beautiful tone and a swinging style) is one of the top new jazz violinists of the 1990s, and the more memorable selections on this CD are so strong that they almost allow one to overlook the three throwaway pop/R&B songs. Unfortunately, the opening "Downtown Underground" is one of the losers, and the Nicki Richards vocal piece "Late Night Mood" (which recording executive talked Carter into recording that turkey?) is so lightweight that it should have been released on another album. In contrast are near-classic renditions of Eddie Harris' "Listen Here" and Mal Waldron's "Soul Eyes"; Carter's haunting ballad "Reflections" deserves to become a standard. A mixed bag, but overall this CD is recommended, with reservations. ~ Scott Yanow
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (12/97, pp.76-77) - 3 stars (out of 5) - "...Carter is her own woman and she records the kind of music that she deems suitable for honest expression..."

Vibe (6-7/97, p.156) - "...If you have nightmares about squeaky grade school violin recitals, Carter's bowmanship will wake you with tenderness."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » General
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Violin
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Something for Grace on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top