SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Sophisticated Lady

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Sophisticated Lady: The Duke Ellington Songbook Collection
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Sophisticated Lady Previously Unreleased More Info... 3:50
2)    In a Sentimental Mood Previously Unreleased More Info... 3:55
3)    Lush Life (Previously Unreleased) More Info... 4:36
4)    Solitude (Previously Unreleased) More Info... 3:56
5)    Day Dream (Previously Unreleased) More Info... 3:34
6)    Tonight I Shall Sleep (With a Smile On My Face) [Previously Unreleased] More Info... 4:21
7)    Sophisticated Lady More Info... 4:05
8)    Solitude More Info... 4:25
9)    Day Dream More Info... 5:02
10)    All Too Soon More Info... 3:48
11)    What Am I Here For More Info... 3:35
12)    I'm Just A Lucky So And So More Info... 4:31
13)    Chelsea Bridge More Info... 3:28
14)    Mood Indigo More Info... 5:06
15)    I Didn't Know About You More Info... 4:08
  Disc 2
1)    I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart More Info... 3:33
2)    Black Butterfly More Info... 3:03
3)    In A Mellow Tone More Info... 3:20
4)    It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) More Info... 2:29
5)    In A Sentimental Mood More Info... 4:22
6)    Lush Life More Info... 4:31
7)    I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) More Info... 4:31
8)    Tonight I Shall Sleep (With A Smile On My Face) More Info... 3:57
9)    Rocks In My Bed More Info... 5:23
10)    Prelude To A Kiss More Info... 6:01
11)    Everything But You More Info... 5:30
12)    I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues More Info... 4:36
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Dave Luke; Seth Presant.
  • Liner Note Author: Tad Hershorn.
  • Recording information: Group IV Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/13/1979-01/23/1980); RCA Studios, New York, NY (08/13/1979-01/23/1980); Group IV Studios, Hollywood, CA (09/12/1979-09/13/1979); RCA Studios, New York, NY (09/12/1979-09/13/1979).
  • Photographers: Jan Persson; Tad Hershorn; Ray Avery.
  • Sarah Vaughan debuted on Norman Granz's Pablo label in 1978, announcing herself immediately with a triumphant set titled How Long Has This Been Going On? After a Brazilian LP in 1979, she turned to an ambitious project: the Duke Ellington songbook, eventually released as two separate volumes. The Concord set Sophisticated Lady reissues the complete contents of those two LPs, plus a brace of unreleased tracks that might just overshadow the original program. (Not for nothing do they lead off this collection, instead of being tacked on the end.) On August 13, 1979, Vaughan had begun the project by recording six songs with arranger genius Benny Carter, plus a large string section and a basic band including Jimmy Rowles on piano, Grady Tate on drums, and Andy Simpkins on bass. Carter's charts for "Lush Life" and "Solitude" help bring out the best in Vaughan, and she sounds (especially on "Solitude") as if she were still in her prime. These six songs had never appeared before 2013, but it's a glory to find them here, finally. The rest of these sessions, recorded from mid-August to late January of 1980, are no slouch either. Vaughan's natural register is quite deep, but she still possessed the range she had 20 years earlier, and she'd only gained in her interpretive skills. Accompanying her are yet more heavyweights: Zoot Sims, Frank Foster, or Frank Wess on tenor, Joe Pass or Bucky Pizzarelli on guitar, J.J. Johnson on trombone, and Waymon Reed on trumpet or flgelhorn. Although the pacing is rarely upbeat (often a pitfall of '70s jazz standards), the results approach the peak of vocal Duke Ellington tributes, Ella Fitzgerald's 1957 Sings the Duke Ellington Song Book, recorded with the entire Ellington band and charts from Billy Strayhorn. ~ John Bush
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sophisticated Lady: The Duke Ellington Songbook Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top