Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Soprano Summit [Compilation]

Album: Soprano Summit [Compilation]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nagasaki
2)    Chalumeau Blue
3)    Black and Tan Fantasy
4)    Grenadilla Stomp
5)    Danny Boy
6)    Everybody Loves My Baby
7)    Linger Awhile
8)    Slightly Under the Weather
9)    Wake Up Chillen'
10)    Ole Miss
11)    Debut
12)    Some of These Days
13)    Jazzspeak
1)    Prince of Wails
2)    Netcha's Dream
3)    Oh, Daddy!
4)    When Day Is Done
5)    When My Dreamboat Comes Home
6)    There'll Be Some Changes Made
7)    If You Were the Only Girl in the World
8)    I'd Climb the Highest Mountain
9)    Wequassett Wail
10)    Arkansas Lullaby
11)    Crazy Rhythm
12)    Lover, Come Back to Me
13)    Nagasaki
14)    Everybody Loves My Baby
15)    Georgia Cabin
16)    Song of the Wanderer
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Kenny Davern (clarinet, soprano saxophone, C-melody saxophone); Bob Wilber (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Marty Grosz (guitar, banjo); Bobby Rosengarden (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Jon Bates.
  • Liner Note Authors: Don Lass; Marty Grosz.
  • Recording information: Down Town Sound, New York, NY (02/29/1976-09/12/1977); Downtown Sound (02/29/1976-09/12/1977); Downtown Sound Remote (02/29/1976-09/12/1977).
  • Photographer: Rollo Phlecks.
  • During the mid-'70s, an era when interest in pre-bop jazz was near its lowest, Soprano Summit was formed and somehow flourished. Co-led by Kenny Davern (on soprano, clarinet, and C-melody sax) and Bob Wilber (tripling on soprano, clarinet, and alto), the group offered strong swing-based solos, a colorful repertoire, and, best of all, exciting ensembles. This two-CD set features the 1976-1977 edition of Soprano Summit with Marty Grosz's acoustic guitar and banjo acting as a third important voice while bassist George Duvivier and either Bobby Rosengarden and Fred Stoll on drums offer suitable support. Reissued are two complete LPs and in addition there are five previously unreleased selections from a live performance, along with a 13-minute "Jazzspeak" during which Marty Grosz talks (with humor) about the history of the important group. Some of the many highlights of this essential set include "Grenadilla Stomp," "Ole Miss," "When Day Is Done," "Crazy Rhythm," and two versions of "Nagasaki." ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Soprano Summit [Compilation] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top