Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Sorcerer [Remaster]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Trumpet

Sorcerer [Remaster]

Artist: Miles Davis (Performed By)

Elsewhere $22.26 $14.95   Save $7.31 (33%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Sony Music Distribution (USA)
Album: Sorcerer [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Prince of Darkness
2)    Pee Wee
3)    Masqualero
4)    Sorcerer, The
5)    Limbo
6)    Vonetta
7)    Nothing Like You
8)    Masqualero - (alternate take, bonus track)
9)    Limbo - (alternate take, alternate version, bonus track)

Performer Notes
  • Miles Davis Quintet: Miles Davis (trumpet); Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Herbie Hancock (piano); Ron Carter (bass); Tony Williams (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Bob Dorough (vocals); Frank Rehak (trombone); Paul Chambers, Buster Williams (bass); Jimmy Cobb (drums); Willie Bobo (bongos).
  • Producers: Teo Macero, Irving Townshend.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna, Bob Belden.
  • Engineers: Frank Laico, Stan Tonkel, Fred Plaut.
  • Recorded at Columbia Studio B, New York, New York on May 16, 17 & 24, 1967; Columbia Studio A, New York, New York on August 21, 1962; Columbia Studios, Los Angeles, California on May 9, 1967. Includes liner notes by Bob Belden.
  • Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Mark Wilder and Rob Schwarz (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
  • This is a specially imported limited edition 20-bit digital remaster from Japan.
  • Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Bob Dorough (vocals); Wayne Shorter (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Frank Rehak (trombone); Herbie Hancock (piano, keyboards); Jimmy Cobb , Tony Williams (drums); Willie Bobo (bongos).
  • Audio Remixers: Mark Wilder; Vic Anesini.
  • Liner Note Authors: Chris Albertson; Bob Belden.
  • Recording information: Columbia Studio A, NY, NY (08/21/1962/05/24/1967); Columbia Studio B, NY, NY (08/21/1962/05/24/1967); Columbia Studios, Los Angeles, CA (08/21/1962/05/24/1967).
  • Photographers: Francis Wolff; Jan Persson.
  • Arranger: Gil Evans.
  • By the time Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams recorded SORCERER in 1967, they were the most acclaimed ensemble in all of jazz. The Miles Davis Quintet had by this time perfected an intuitive style of collective improvisation that distilled the revolutionary changes of '60s jazz, but without rejecting elements of the mainstream tradition. In fact the Quintet's approach to melody, harmony and rhythm on SORCERER and NEFERTITI formed the basis for many of the Marsalis Brothers' popular recording projects of the 1980s.
  • Wayne Shorter's unique style of voice-leading is showcased on four compositions. "Prince Of Darkness" presents an airborne theme over a swinging, restless pulse, as Carter and (especially) Williams answer Shorter's every parry and thrust with lightning and thunder of their own. On his freely inflected "Masqualero," Shorter fragments the Iberian theme between the horns and Hancock's dark, impressionistic chords; the rhythm is crisp and purposeful one second, nebulous and fanciful the next, inspiring a particularly torrid Davis solo. On "Limbo" Shorter and Davis navigate a delightfully circuitous melody as Williams offers crackling rejoinders, while "Vonetta" is a stately ballad over an irregular martial pulse.
  • You can hear pianist Hancock revelling in the sound of discovery throughout SORCERER and his long, boppish theme and variations on the classic title tune inspires fervent conversations between Davis and Shorter. SORCERER is perfection from start to finish.

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:13 October, 1998
Guest Artist: Herbie Hancock; Wayne Shorter; Ron Carter; Bob Dorough; Tony Williams; Paul Chambers; Jimmy Cobb; Willie Bobo
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Anonymous on
Five top jazz musicians, all in top form, make the Sorcerer a top jazz album. If you like Wayne Shorter compositions, this is a must have album; if you love Williams' drumming this is a must have album; if you love Carter's funky bass, this is a must have album; if you love the way Hancock adds depth and playfulness, this is a must have album; if you love the way Davis brings out the best in the best and keeps driving the jazz form onward, this is a must have album.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sorcerer [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.