Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Soul Food [PA]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » R&B » General

Soul Food [Parental Advisory]

Artist: Goodie Mob

Elsewhere $15.80 $13.29   Save 16%
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: LaFace
Album: Soul Food
# Song Title   Time
1)    Free
2)    Thought Process
3)    Red Dog
4)    Dirty South
5)    Cell Therapy
6)    Sesame Street
7)    Guess Who
8)    Serenity Prayer
9)    Fighting
10)    Blood
11)    Live at the O.M.N.I.
12)    Goodie Bag
13)    Soul Food
14)    Funeral
15)    I Didn't Ask to Come
16)    Rico
17)    Coming, The
18)    Cee-Lo
19)    Day After, The

Performer Notes
  • Goodie Mob: Cee-Lo Green, Khujo, T-Mo, Big Gipp (vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Cool Breeze, Dre, Big Boi, Rico Wade, EJ The Witch Doctor (vocals); Martin Terry (guitar, acoustic guitar); Colin Wolfe (guitar, bass); Tommy Martin (guitar); Marlene Rice (violin, viola, strings); Sir Dean Gant, Carlos Glover (keyboards); Preston Crump (bass); Organized Noize Productions (programming, sound effects); Mixzo (programming); Jon Marett, Christopher Boea (sound effects); The Family Tree, Joi, Brandon "Shug" Bennett, Sleepy Brown, 4.0, Roni (background vocals).
  • Producers: Organized Noize Productions (tracks 1-8, 10-19); Mixzo, Organized Noize Productions (track 9).
  • Engineers: Bernasky Wall, Tim Harrigan (track 1); Bernasky Wall, Carlos Glover (track 2); Jon Marett (tracks 3, 8, 14); Neal H. Pogue, Bernasky Wall, Tim Harrigan (track 4); Neal H. Pogue, Bernasky Wall (tracks 5, 12-13); Neal H. Pogue (tracks 6, 9); Bernasky Wall, Mark Lowe (track 7); Brian Frye, Bernasky Wall, Carlos Glover, Paul Diaz (track 10); Tim Harrigan (tracks 11, 19); Bernasky Wall (track 15); Carlos Glover (tracks 16, 18); Neal H. Pogue, Tim Harrigan (track 17).
  • Personnel: Goodie Mob (background vocals); Cool Breeze, Cee Lo Green (vocals, background vocals); Dr? , Khujo, Rick Wade, T-Mo, Big Boi, Big Gipp, C-Lo (vocals); Martin Terry (guitar, acoustic guitar); Colin Wolfe, Tommy Martin (guitar); Marlene Rice (violin, viola, strings); Dean Gant, Sir Gant, Carlos Glover (keyboards); Organized Noize (drums, keyboard programming, sound effects); Mixzo (drum programming); 4.0, Brandon Bennett, Joi, Sleepy Brown, Family Tree (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Neil Pogue; Organized Noize; Bob Brockman.
  • Recording information: Bosstown Recording Studio, Atlanta, GA; Curtom Recording Studio; Purple Dragon Recording Studio, Atlanta, GA.
  • Photographer: Jim Porto.
  • Along with Outkast, Goodie Mob emerged as a leading light in the Atlanta, Georgia, hip-hop scene of the mid-1990s. While both groups would become major forces in Southern rap, Goodie Mob remained the more understated and straightforward of the two acts, with its social consciousness and sincerity garnering considerable respect. The ensemble's outstanding '95 debut, SOUL FOOD, opens with the beautifully melodic gospel number "Free," before launching into bold, poignant rhymes on tracks such as "Thought Process" and "Sesame Street." Lifted by Organized Noize's inventive production and joined briefly by Outkast's Dre and Big Boi, the four members of the Mob--Big Gipp, Cee-Lo Green, Khujo, and T-Mo--are all in top form on this outing, though it's already clear that Cee-Lo, with his deft flow and soulful singing, would become the breakout star. Though Goodie Mob produced two more albums before Cee-Lo's departure, the group would never top the vital, vibrant performances on this exceptional album.

Professional Reviews
Rap Pages (12/95, p.27) - 9 (out of 10) - "...The insight and methods these four employ sets them apart from the rest of the flock. Their ability to look beyond the quick cash, murder-murder-murder-kill-kill-kill scheme of things is a bonus..."

NME (Magazine) (5/4/96, p.59) - 7 (out of 10) - "...a sample-free, collective hip-hop based on played and programmed instruments, that nods at funk and southern soul, yet ultimately exists as a backdrop for the four main raw and untutored voices..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Mixed
Release Date:7 November, 1995
Guest Artist: Joi; Outkast

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Soul Food on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.