Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Sound Awake

Album: Sound Awake
# Song Title   Time
1)    Simple Boy
2)    Goliath
3)    New Day
4)    Set Fire to the Hive
5)    Umbra
6)    All I Know
7)    Medicine Wears Off, The
8)    Caudal Lure, The
9)    Illumine
10)    Deadman
11)    Change
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Forrester Savell.
  • Recording information: Blackbird Sound Studio, Perth (2008-2009); Kingdom Studios, Perth (2008-2009).
  • Photographer: Nicole Norelli .
  • Fresh on the heels of lead singer Ian Kenny's massive success with side project Birds of Tokyo, Karnivool's sophomore album, Sound Awake, picks up with pieces of what made the band so popular the first time around, but augments that with new elements. The core of alternative/nu metal that brought the group success on its debut album, Themata, still holds throughout the bulk of this album, but there are little touches of something else. There's an introspective touch in the looser, slower, and sparser "New Day." There's a touch of Audioslave tucked away in "Set Fire to the Hive," and pieces of a Stone Temple Pilots or Velvet Revolver idea in the same piece. The Perth outfit has clearly spent time listening to some of the influences here. The problem with the album, however, is that most of the new progressive elements -- the parts that set the album apart from others in the same airwave-overwhelming genres -- often come across as intricate attempts to mimic Tool. Kenny is a very good singer, but he doesn't have the vocal gravitas of someone in Maynard Keenan's league. That seems to be the factor that impedes whatever innovation is heard here. With a stronger front line in the group, some of the compositions on Sound Awake would truly carry over effectively; when Karnivool are simply innovating and trying out new elements, they turn out to be quite capable. They just need that last push to make the album really something special. ~ Adam Greenberg
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sound Awake on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top