Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Sound of the Smiths

Album: The Sound of the Smiths
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hand In Glove
2)    This Charming Man
3)    What Difference Does It Make? [Peel Session Version]
4)    Still Ill
5)    Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
6)    William, It Was Really Nothing
7)    How Soon Is Now? [12 " Version]
8)    Nowhere Fast
9)    Shakespeare's Sister
10)    Barbarism Begins At Home [7" Version]
11)    That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
12)    Headmaster Ritual, The
13)    Boy With The Thorn In His Side, The
14)    Bigmouth Strikes Again
15)    There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
16)    Panic
17)    Ask
18)    You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby
19)    Shoplifters Of The World Unite
20)    Sheila Take A Bow
21)    Girlfriend In A Coma
22)    I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
23)    Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Though the Smiths have been compiled numerous times, 2008's THE SOUND OF THE SMITHS is the first set to comprehensively survey the revered British college-rock band's impressive 1983-87 catalogue. Beginning with the restless "Hand in Glove," and proceeding in chronological order to spotlight other classic tracks such as the epic "How Soon Is Now?" and the achingly melancholic "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me," the lovingly remastered SOUND easily reinforces the Smiths' status as one of the all-time-great U.K. pop/rock bands, adeptly showcasing Morrissey's hyper-literate lyrics and emotive croon, as well as Johnny Marr's awe-inspiring and dynamic guitar work. The anthology, which benefits from the input of both key members, also makes room for lesser-known album selections such as "Still Ill" and "Barbarism Begins at Home," making SOUND much more than a mere singles collection.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.95) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Morrissey articulates both bleak romanticism and omni-deprecating humor, while Marr accompanies him with chiming, multilayered riffs."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.118) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "With Marr's transports of melodic delight and the detailed complicities of Morrissey, songs such as 'William, It Was Really Nothing' and 'Sweet And Tender Hooligan' make for pop music of uncanny potency."

Blender (Magazine) (p.67) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he most comprehensive survey yet of the Mancunians' brief, tear-stained blaze through the mid-'80s indie-pop firmament..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Sound of the Smiths on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top