Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Souvlaki
# Song Title   Time
1)    Alison
2)    Machine Gun
3)    40 Days
4)    Sing
5)    Here She Comes
6)    Souvlaki Space Station
7)    When the Sun Hits
8)    Altogether
9)    Melon Yellow
10)    Dagger
11)    Some Velvet Morning
12)    Good Day Sunshine
13)    Missing You
14)    Country Rain
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Slowdive: Rachel Goswell, Neil Halstead, Christian Savill, Nick Chaplin, Simon Scott.
  • Additional personnel: Spike (cellos); Brian Eno (keyboards).
  • Engineers: Andy Wilkinson, Guy Fixsen, Giles Hall, Chris Hufford, Martin Nichols.
  • Recorded at Protocol Studios, London, England; The Courtyard Studio, Sutton Courtenay, England; The White House Studio, Weston Super Mare, England.
  • Personnel: Neil Halstead, Rachel Goswell (vocals, guitar); Christian Savill (guitar); Brian Eno (keyboards); Ian McCutcheon (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Chris Hufford; Ed Buller; Neil Halstead; Slowdive.
  • Recording information: Courtyard Studio; Protocol Studios, London, England; Sutton Courtenay; The Courtyard Studio; The White house Studio; Weston Super Mare.
  • Photographer: Steve Double.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Martin Nichols.
  • Though not as big and swirling as Just for a Day, there's more of an attempt to put advanced song structure and melody in place rather than just craft infinitely appealing, occasionally thunderous mood music. Everything is simplified, as if Brian Eno's presence on two songs -- he contributes keyboards and treatments and co-wrote one tune after turning down the band's invitation to produce -- hammered home the better aspects of "ambient" music. This is no Music for Airports though. On the opening "Alison," the largely uplifting "When the Sun Hits," and the darkly blissful "Machine Gun," Slowdive are still capable of mouth-opening, spine-tingling flourishes. They've found a way to be quiet, moving, and aggressive simultaneously, mixing trance-like beauty with the deepest delayed guitar sounds around, a sound at once relaxing, soothing, and exciting, and most of all harshly beautiful. [SBK released Souvlaki in the U.S. a full eight months after its English release on Creation, with three-quarters of the 5 EP tacked on the end, plus one unreleased track, a memorable, spacy run through Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood's "Some Velvet Morning."] ~ Jack Rabid
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.110) - "[O]ne of the shoegaziest albums ever."

Option (8/94, p.127) - "...Still another member of the wispy, ethereal psychedelic pop brigade...quite satisfying, and even mildly mesmerizing..."

NME (Magazine) (5/29/93, p.31) - 6 - Good - "...another exemplary product from spangly guitar heaven...."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.86) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "SOUVLAKI appeared as a fully-formed masterpiece..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Souvlaki on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top