Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Spoke
# Song Title   Time
1)    Low Expectations
2)    Mind the Gap
3)    Mazurra
4)    Sanchez
5)    Haul, The
6)    Slag
7)    Paper Route
8)    Glimpse
9)    Navy Cut
10)    Spokes
11)    Scout
12)    Point Vicente
13)    Wash
14)    Ice Cream Jeep
15)    Windjammer
16)    Mazurka
17)    Removed
18)    Hitch
19)    Stinging Nettle
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Calexico includes: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion, bass); John Convertino (guitar, accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums); Tasha Bundy (drums).
  • Personnel: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion); John Convertino (guitar, accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums); Bridget Keating (violin).
  • Audio Mixers: Joey Burns; John Convertino.
  • Recording information: Tucson, AZ (11/20/1995-12/20/1995).
  • While Calexico's 1997 debut album, SPOKE, contains strong hints of what was to come for the group, it clearly stands as an early point in their evolution. The hazy spaghetti-Western Mexicana that would later become so prevalent pops up at a few points here, but doesn't dominate the album. Multi-instrumentalists John Convertino and Joey Burns had only recently splintered off from Giant Sand, and the Captain Beefheart-gone-indie-rock flavor of their former band can still be heard in spots. At the same time, there's a strong lo-fi alt-folk feel to a number of tracks, evoking the sort of records Will Oldham and others were making for the Drag City label at the time. Though it's not as sophisticated as Calexico's later albums, SPOKE has a distinctive personality, and remains a starting point that the band should still look back on with pride.
Professional Reviews
Option (11-12/97, p.88) - "...a patchwork of scenes of everyday life--crafted by experts that know not to be heavy-handed--and it manages to make the everyday feel significant."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Post Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Spoke on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top