Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Spurts: The Richard Hell Story

Album: Spurts: The Richard Hell Story
# Song Title   Time
1)    Love Comes in Spurts
2)    That's All I Know (Right Now)
3)    Chinese Rocks
4)    Blank Generation
5)    Liars Beware
6)    Walking on the Water
7)    Love Comes in Spurts
8)    Kid With the Replaceable Head, The
9)    Crack Down
10)    Time
11)    Ignore That Door
12)    Lowest Common Dominator
13)    Downtown at Dawn
14)    Dim Star Theme
15)    Baby Huey (Do You Wanna Dance?)
16)    Monkey
17)    Night Is Coming On, The
18)    Oh
19)    She'll Be Coming (For Dennis Cooper) - (previously unreleased)
20)    Rip Off
21)    Blank Generation - (previously unreleased, live)
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Richard Hell (vocals); Richard Hell (bass guitar); Johnny Thunders (guitar, background vocals); Richard Lloyd (guitar); Jimmy Lee, Jimmy Lee (saz); Jerry Antonious, Jahn Xavier (bass guitar); Fred Maher, Frank Mauro, Frank Mauro (drums); William Ruiz, William Ruiz (percussion); Ivan Julian, Robert Quine (guitar, background vocals); Don Fleming, Thurston Moore, Tom Verlaine, Walter Lure (guitar); Jad Fair (saxophone); James Morrison , Jerry Nolan, Steve Shelley, Billy Ficca, Marc Bell (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Ivan Julian.
  • Audio Remixers: Richard Hell; Ivan Julian.
  • Liner Note Authors: Richard Hell; Robert Christgau; Carola Dibbell.
  • Recording information: 1973-2004.
  • Author: Richard Hell.
  • Editor: Richard Hell.
  • Photographers: Jay Craven; Brendan Atkinson; Roberta Bayley; Bob Gruen; Echo Danon; Frank Fournier; Larry Busacca.
  • Compiled and supervised by Richard Hell himself, SPURTS: THE RICHARD HELL STORY effectively sums up the artist's small but hugely influential output. BLANK GENERATION, Hell's 1977 album with his band the Voidoids, is one of the defining documents of punk, and that album is represented by four stellar tracks here. The handful of cuts from the Voidoids' excellent, often-overlooked sophomore album DESTINY STREET fleshes out the main chapter of Hell's work.
  • SPURTS surveys Hell's trajectory as an artist, from his pre-Voidoids bands the Neon Boys (an early version of guitar genius Tom Verlaine's Television) and the Heartbreakers (with Johnny Thunders and Jerry Nolan from the New York Dolls), to his post-Voidoids project Dim Stars (featuring Sonic Youth guitarist Thurston Moore). Though Hell will never be credited with being prolific or stunningly eclectic, cuts as thoughtful as "Time," as jagged and searing as "Liars Beware," and as ecstatically energetic as "Love Comes in Spurts" have left a brainy, rebellious stain on rock's rulebook forever. Alongside a copy of BLANK GENERATION, SPURTS should complete the story of Richard Hell for almost any curious fan.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "As an instant of alternative history, with Verlaine and Richard Lloyd's sharp, glassy riffs serving Hell's astonishing tale of an identity crisis in the womb, the band clearly his, it's fascinating."

Magnet (p.88) - "Hell's brief 1975 stay with the Heartbreakers finds his cat-on-a-hot-sidewalk vocals on 'Chinese Rocks,' and his Voidoids days are best represented by Creedence Clearwater Revival cover 'Walking On The Water'."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Punk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Spurts: The Richard Hell Story on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top