Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Standing at the Crossroads [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Standing at the Crossroads [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Standing at the Crossroads
2)    Milk Cow's Troubles
3)    Death Hearse Blues
4)    Drunken Man's Prayer
5)    Hoo-Doo Snake Doctor Blues
6)    It's a Lowdown Dirty Shame
7)    How Long - (previously unreleased)
8)    Crying Black Angel - (previously unreleased)
9)    Down in Spirit - (previously unreleased)
10)    Your Troubles Can't Be Like Mine
11)    Kind-Hearted Woman
12)    Baby Sister Blues
13)    My Rat
14)    Don't Take a Country Woman
15)    Kind-Hearted Woman - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
16)    Death Hearse Blues - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Johnny Shines (vocals, guitar).
  • Liner Note Author: Pete Welding.
  • Recording information: Altadena, CA (11/11/1970/11/17/1970).
  • This is one of several albums this artist made in the early '70s that stand as a masterpiece of the acoustic country blues genre. Johnny Shines had begun recording in the mid-'60s, the albums done with electric guitar and full-combo backup, one of them reportedly cut after he hadn't picked up an instrument in years. It was as if he reinvented himself in the following decade, playing pristine and flawless acoustic slide guitar pieces complete with shuffling, stuttering, and stimulatingly complicated tempos. The message was that he had been a young sidekick to Robert Johnson and had absorbed everything, although no deal had been made with the Devil. Shines was a steady, dependable, religious, and forthright chap who lived in Tuscaloosa, AL, and held down a steady job as a construction foreman. Mild-mannered and extremely intellectual, he let loose the reserve of emotion when doing a Delta blues number. The magic and heart were in his fingertips as well as in his voice, which sounds stupendous here. The emergence of the Johnson song canon into his repertoire, done with almost Baroque detail, was also something of a revelation. Some of Shines' earlier albums had featured songs that almost seemed made up on the spot. He was good at that, and was rumored to have played whole sets that were completely improvised when working the country juke joints of his home state, but on this album he showed what he could do when sinking his teeth into a bona fide blues classic. "Kind Hearted Woman" is the musical equivalent of an absolutely perfect chopped-barbecue sandwich with sauce the way they do it in Tuscaloosa, and obviously of much less offense to vegetarians when taken in this form. There were 11 perfect songs chosen by Pete Welding from his set of recording sessions for this project. Once again this great producer has come up with a blues release that is basically a required item for any good collection of this genre. ~ Eugene Chadbourne
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Standing at the Crossroads [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top