SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Stars & Stripes Forever

Album: Stars & Stripes Forever
# Song Title   Time
1)    Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
2)    Dirt Band Interview
3)    Cosmic Cowboy, Pt. 1
4)    Aluminum Record Award
5)    Fish Song
6)    Mr. Bojangles
7)    Vassar Clements Interview
8)    Listen to the Mockingbird
9)    Sheik of Araby, The
10)    Resign Yourself to Me
11)    Dixie Hoedown
12)    Cripple Creek
13)    Mountain Whippoorwill, The (Or, How Hillbilly Jim Won the Great ...)
14)    Honky Tonkin'
15)    House at Pooh Corner
16)    Buy Me for the Rain
17)    Oh, Boy!
18)    Teardrops in My Eyes
19)    Glocoat-Blues
20)    Stars and Stripes Forever
21)    Battle of New Orleans
22)    It Came from the 50's (Blast from the Past)/Jeff Hanna
23)    My True Story
24)    Diggy Liggy Lo
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: John McEuen (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle); Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, steel guitar); Jimmie Fadden (vocals, guitar, harmonica, accordion, drums); Jim Ibbotson (vocals, accordion, piano, bass, drums).
  • Additional personnel: Doug Jernigan (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Les Thompson (mandolin, bass); Jerry Mills (mandolin); Plas Johnson (saxophone).
  • Recorded at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas on March 13, 1972; Cowtown, Kansas City, Missouri on June 17 & 18, 1973; Woodland Sound Studios, Nashville, Tennessee on January 14, 22 & 23, 1974. Includes liner notes by Rich Kienzle.
  • Adapter: Marcelle Clements.
  • Personnel: Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, drums, washboard, background vocals); John McEuen (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle, accordion); Les Thompson (vocals, guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Jimmie Fadden (vocals, guitar, harmonica, drums, background vocals); Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, accordion, piano, keyboards, drums, background vocals); Maurice Manceau (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Doug Journigon, Dave Jernigan (dobro); Jerry Mills (mandolin); Vassar Clements (violin, fiddle); Byron Berline (violin); Plas Johnson (saxophone); Russ Kunkel (drums).
  • Audio Remixer: Michael Denecke.
  • Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
  • Recording information: Cowtown Ballroom, Kansas City, MO (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Cowtown, Kansas City, MS (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Woodland Sound Studios, Nashville, TN (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Woodland Studios, Nashville, TN (03/13/1972-01/14/1974).
  • Photographers: David Bowie; Walter McEuen; Bill Higgins; William R. Eastabrook; William McEuen; Alice McEuen.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Michel Rubini.
  • Arrangers: Marcelle Clements; Jeff Hanna.
  • In many ways, the mixed collection of live and studio recordings on Stars & Stripes Forever accomplished for the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and rock music what Sweetheart of the Rodeo failed to do for or with the Byrds, showing the rock band plunging deeply into country music. Two years in the making, it incorporated new studio cuts and live tracks recorded at five concerts over a two-year period, as well as interview material with guest fiddle player Vassar Clements. The mix works better than just about any genuine country (as opposed to country-rock) effort ever done by a rock band, mostly because the band was so careful in their recording and editing, and they gave themselves time to get this stuff just the way they wanted it. Beyond the excellent concert renditions of "Mr. Bojangles" or "The Battle of New Orleans" (which became a single in the wake of this album), and covers of Hank Williams songs and numerous traditional tunes, listeners found they'd walked in on something very deep and profound, tapping into a special creative process. Whatever the reason, this album gave the public more than its money's worth and was a success, charting higher than any other record the group ever released. It still packs lots of power. ~ Bruce Eder
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Stars & Stripes Forever on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top