SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Stranger in Us All [Expanded Edition] [Digipak]

Album: Stranger in Us All [Expanded Edition] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Wolf to the Moon
2)    Cold Hearted Woman
3)    Hunting Humans (Insatiable)
4)    Stand and Fight
5)    Ariel
6)    Too Late for Tears
7)    Black Masquerade
8)    Silence
9)    Hall of the Mountain King
10)    Still I'm Sad
11)    Emotional Crime [Japan Bonus Track]
12)    Ariel [Radio Edit]
13)    Temple of the King [Live], The - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow: Ritchie Blackmore (guitar); Greg Smith (vocals, bass); Doogie White (vocals); Paul Morris (keyboards); John O'Reilly (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Mitch Weiss (harmonica); Candice Night (background vocals).
  • Principally recorded at Long View Farm Studios, North Brookfield, Massachusetts.
  • Personnel: Doogie White (vocals, background vocals); Ritchie Blackmore (guitar); Mitch Weiss (harmonica); Paul Morris (keyboards, background vocals); John O'Reilly (drums); Candice Night (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Pat Regan.
  • Recording information: Longview Farm Studios, Brookfield, MA (10/02/1995); The Circus, Stockholm (10/02/1995).
  • Photographers: Greg Bannan; Frank Ockenfels.
  • Guitarist Ritchie Blackmore resurrected the beloved hard rock band Rainbow in 1995 for the album Stranger in Us All. The new lineup -- technically named Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow -- was not an all-star who's who of hard rock like the groundbreaking original version with vocalist Ronnie James Dio or the radio-targeted AOR version with vocalist Joe Lynn Turner. All incarnations of Rainbow, even the mid-period lineup fronted by bellower Graham Bonnet, are generally revered in hard rock circles. In its own way, Rainbow's music was just as influential as the music Blackmore made during his years in Deep Purple. Stranger in Us All feels like Blackmore's shot-in-the-dark, semi-inspired effort to reconnect with his hard rock fan base. Around this same time, he was gearing up his Renaissance-flavored new age project, Blackmore's Night. For Stranger in Us All, Blackmore recruited vocalist Doogie White, keyboardist Paul Morris, bass guitarist Greg Smith, and drummer John O'Reilly. Many songs, such as "Wolf to the Moon," "Cold Hearted Woman," and "Stand and Fight," are decent enough. The two standout tracks, "Hunting Humans (Insatiable)" and "Black Masquerade," are the best at recapturing classic Rainbow's energy, drama, and dynamics. Blackmore also proffers another cover of the Yardbirds' "Still I'm Sad." He clearly loves this song since it has appeared in studio and live versions on previous Rainbow albums. Does Stranger in Us All live up to the Rainbow name and reputation? Not really. White is a decent, fully capable hard rock vocalist, but he is not as distinctive as Dio, Bonnet, or Turner. Then again, few vocalists are. (On tour, White did do a fine job of singing all of the old Deep Purple and Rainbow favorites in the set.) Rainbow soon fell by the wayside as Blackmore concentrated on Blackmore's Night. Perhaps some variation of the classic lineup will reunite eventually; even without the late, great Cozy Powell on drums; something like Yes' 1991 Union tour, which gathered multiple members to celebrate its overall legacy, would be a hard rock fan's dream. ~ Bret Adams
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Stranger in Us All [Expanded Edition] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top