SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Strangeways, Here We Come

Album: Strangeways, Here We Come
# Song Title   Time
1)    Rush and a Push and the Land is Ours, A
2)    I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
3)    Death of a Disco Dancer
4)    Girlfriend In a Coma
5)    Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
6)    Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
7)    Unhappy Birthday
8)    Paint a Vulgar Picture
9)    Death At One's Elbow
10)    I Won't Share You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Smiths: Morrissey (vocals, piano); Johnny Marr (guitar, piano); Andy Rourke (bass); Mike Joyce (drums).
  • Recorded at The Wool Hall, Bath, England in the spring of 1987.
  • Lyricist: Morrissey.
  • Personnel: Morrissey (vocals); Johnny Marr (guitar, piano); Orchestrazia Ardwick (strings, saxophone); Andy Rourke (bass guitar); Mike Joyce (drums).
  • Recording information: The Wool Hall, Bath (1987).
  • Photographer: Steve Wright.
  • The Smiths' underrated and unjustly maligned swan song found the band experimenting with sound and arrangement more than ever before. From the epic instrumental introduction to "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me" to the dark instrumentation of "Death Of A Disco Dancer," STRANGEWAYS HERE WE COME is a sonically rich album, filled with extremes and surprises. Among its many highlights are its signature tune "Girlfriend In A Coma," and the stingingly autobiographical "Paint A Vulgar Picture," which also happens to contain one of the most inspired, melodic guitar passages of Johnny Marr's legendary career.
  • Produced by future Morrissey collaborator Stephen Street, STRANGEWAYS is a document of a band's "fierce last stand." An inner sleeve photo shows an exasperated studio shot of a lone figure (the cigarette suggests Marr) obviously at wit's end. The album's conceptual looseness, while not necessarily a bad thing ("Death At One's Elbow" notwithstanding), suggests that the band unit was probably not at its most cohesive. The album's finisher, however, "I Won't Share You," is as tender and graceful a thing as the group ever recorded, a fitting farewell to one of pop music's most engaging teams.
Professional Reviews
Q (10/01, p.52) - Ranked #36 in Q's "Best 50 Albums of Q's Lifetime"

Q (12/93, p.139) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...[The Smiths'] were getting more was weird, but only someone who had been drinking heavily would dub it an outright disappointment..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Strangeways, Here We Come on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top