Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Strictly Personal

Album: Strictly Personal
# Song Title   Time
1)    Ah Feel Like Ahcid
2)    Safe As Milk
3)    Trust Us
4)    Son of Mirror Man - Mere Man
5)    On Tomorrow
6)    Beatle Bones 'N' Smokin' Stones
7)    Gimme Dat Harp Boy
8)    Kandy Korn
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Full performer name: Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band.
  • Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band includes: Captain Beefheart (vocals, harmonica).
  • Personnel: Captain Beefheart (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Don Van Vliet (vocals); Antennae Jimmy Semens, Alex St. Clair (guitar); Mark Marcellino (keyboards); John French (drums).
  • Recording information: Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA (04/25/1968-05/??/1968).
  • Arranger: Don Van Vliet.
  • After teenage slide guitar whiz Ry Cooder left the Magic Band and they were dropped by Kama Sutra following the commercial failure of their debut, SAFE AS MILK, Captain Beefheart signed with Blue Thumb and released 1968's STRICTLY PERSONAL. Though a lot of Beefheart fans dismiss the album because of the rather dated psychedelic phasing and backwards-tapes effects--which were added during remixing without Beefheart's approval--STRICTLY PERSONAL is an excellent, highly underrated album.
  • Even noisier than SAFE AS MILK, the bluesy tracks continue further down the stream-of-consciousness path subsequently explored more fully on TROUT MASK REPLICA. The opening "Ah Feel Like Ahcid" and the "Strawberry Fields Forever"-quoting "Beatle Bones 'n' Smokin' Stones" are among Beefheart's oddest work, and the Howlin' Wolf-like "Gimme Dat Harp Boy" redefines the blues in Beefheart's own twisted vision. Production tricks aside, this is terrific stuff.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/7/68, p.28) - "...there are veins of pure Delta gold in these grooves....Beefheart is using his voice to its full potential, the Magic Band is within cutting range of any white blues group alive..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Strictly Personal on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top