SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Summer Teeth

Album: Summer Teeth
# Song Title   Time
1)    Can't Stand It
2)    She's a Jar
3)    Shot in the Arm, A
4)    We're Just Friends
5)    I'm Always in Love
6)    Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again)
7)    Pieholden Suite
8)    How to Fight Loneliness
9)    Via Chicago
10)    ELT
11)    My Darling
12)    When You Wake Up Feeling Old
13)    Summer Teeth
14)    In a Future Age
15)    [Untitled]
16)    Candyfloss
17)    A Shot in the Arm" [Alternate Version]
Product Details


1. Can't Stand It

2. She's A Jar

3. A Shot In The Arm

4. We're Just Friends

5. I'm Always In Love

6. Nothing's Ever Gonna Stand In My Way Again

7. Pieholden Suite

8. How To Fight Loneliness

9. Via Chicago

10. Elt

11. My Darling

12. When You Wake Up Feeling Old

13. Summer Teeth

14. In A Future Age

Performer Notes
  • Wilco: Jeff Tweedy (vocals, acoustic, electric, baritone, bowed, tremelo & 12-string guitars, harmonica, toy harp, synthesizer, bass, tambourine, claps); Jay Bennett (acoustic, baritone, E-bow, electric & lap steel guitars, banjo, tiple, piano, organ, Farfisa organ, keyboards, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, slide bass, drums, bells, tambourine, percussion, claps, background vocals); John Stirratt (piano, bass, background vocals); Ken Coomer (drums, timpani).
  • Additional personnel: Dave Crawford (trumpet); Leroy Bach (piano); Mark Greenberg (vibraphone).
  • Engineers include: Larry Greenhill, Mike Hagler, Dave Trumfio.
  • Personnel: Jeff Tweedy (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, harmonica, synthesizer, tambourine, background vocals); Jay Bennett (electric guitar, lap steel guitar, banjo, piano, organ, Farfisa, keyboards, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, drums, bass drum, tambourine, percussion, bells, background vocals); Dave Crawford (trumpet); Leroy Bach (piano); Mark Greenberg (vibraphone); Ken Coomer (drums, timpani); John Stirratt (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: David Kahne; Jim Scott .
  • Recording information: King Size Sound Laboratories, Chicago, IL (08/1997/11/1998); Pedernales Recording Studio, Spicewood, TX (08/1997/11/1998); White House, Nashv (08/1997/11/1998).
  • Moving beyond A.M.'s Uncle Tupelo-oriented country-rock, Wilco's double-length BEING THERE explored the sonic vistas of the Stones and Big Star. SUMMER TEETH takes things a step further. A loose, inspired masterwork of rootsy power-pop in the grand mid-'70s tradition, it's the greatest album Alex Chilton never made. With perfect pop melodies and a knack for throwing things askew via left-field sonic elements, this is as far from the country as Wilco could be.
  • Jeff Tweedy's ragged-but-right voice is the essence of rock & roll--the travails detailed in the lyrics seem undeniably his own. Though his days of paying homage to Acuff-Rose seem long gone, Tweedy and his compatriots still sound engagingly organic on SUMMER TEETH. Even if they're closer to Badfinger after a few beers than to the post-Tupelo alt-country of Tweedy's former partner and Son Volt leader Jay Farrar, Wilco are still treading the same path they started years ago, obviously headed in the right direction.
Professional Reviews
Spin (4/99, p.160) - 7 (out of 10) - "...built from pieces found rusting by the roadside of the Americana Dream, seemingly at random....Tweedy's best songs are sweet as ever...."

Entertainment Weekly (3/12/99, p.70) - "...TEETH is packed with poignant mid-tempo ballads that would've seemed right at home on a top 10 list in 1975. These days, though, pronouncing them merely transcendent will have to suffice." - Rating: A

Q (1/00, p.86) - Included in Q Magazine's "50 Best Albums of 1999."

Q (4/99, p.107) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Wilco's chiming bells, echoey piano, feedbacking guitar, mellotrons, handclaps, wafting strings, lounging horns, masteruflly directed harmonies and psychedelic swirls shoe-horned into three-minute symphonies..."

CMJ (1/10/00, p.3) - "...propels Jeff Tweedy & Co. out of rootsw rock canon and into the classic pop milieu, smartly investigating rock'n'roll's elegantly invigorate its future. A complex, beautifully bedraggled masterpiece."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/99, p.87) - "Another winner from Wilco....Exuberant, uplifting and elegant all at once, SUMMER TEETH sounds like the perfect soundtrack for the coming spring."

NME (Magazine) (4/3/99, p.41) - "Perhaps the most cheerful record about dreaming of killing your girlfriend ever made..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Summer Teeth on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top