SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Sundown Over Ghost Town [Digipak]

Album: Sundown Over Ghost Town [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Worried Mind
2)    Hallelujah Band
3)    Rio Grande
4)    Half-Broke Horse
5)    My Hometown
6)    Needle & Thread
7)    Down the Road
8)    Some Things Weren't Meant to Be
9)    Pages
10)    Green Hills
11)    Here with Me
12)    Songbird
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Eilen Jewell (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Steve Fulton (vocals, Wurlitzer piano); Jason Beek (vocals, drums, percussion); Mavis Beek (vocals); Jerry Miller (electric guitar, mandolin); Jack Gardner (trumpet); Johnny Sciascia (upright bass).
  • Audio Mixer: Steve Fulton.
  • Recording information: Audio Lab, Boise, ID.
  • Photographer: Otto Kissinger.
  • In the years following her acclaimed 2011 LP Queen of the Minor Key, Americana singer/songwriter Eilen Jewell relocated cross-country from Boston back to her hometown of Boise, Idaho, gave birth to a daughter, released a double live album, and still found the time to record what might be the most succinct and poignant album of her career. The retro country, blues, folk, and Western noir that have long made up her palette are all still present, but there's a relaxed feeling to 2015's Sundown Over Ghost Town that suggests Jewell has reached a confident place in both career and life. Maybe it's the homecoming to a setting better suited to her lonesome, high desert sound or maybe it's simply the passage of time colored by recent motherhood, but songs like "Worried Mind," "Half-Broke Horse," and "Songbird" have a wistful country-folk purity that feels earned by years and experience. With backing by her longtime road band, which includes husband and drummer Jason Beek, bassist Johnny Sciascia, and guitarist/mandolinist Jerry Miller, the musicianship is tight and clever but comfortable on tracks like the spooky, steel guitar-aided "Hallelujah Band," over which Jewell delivers well-crafted lines like "I stood next to the tracks just to feel something pushing back/Tearing through each doubt and sin/The train was an iron wind," proving that she still hasn't lost her dark aura. Other songs, like the mariachi-style rocker "Rio Grande" and the shadowy surf-toned rocker "Pages," allow her to play artfully within distinctive genres without losing herself in them, which is one of the things that makes Jewell so special. This excellent release really plays to her strengths, most notably her evolution as a songwriter. ~ Timothy Monger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sundown Over Ghost Town [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top