Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Sunshine Superman [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Sunshine Superman [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sunshine Superman
2)    Legend of a Girl Child Linda
3)    Three Kingfishers
4)    Ferris Wheel
5)    Bert's Blues
6)    Season of the Witch
7)    Trip, The
8)    Guinevere
9)    Fat Angel, The
10)    Celeste
11)    Breezes of Patchulie
12)    Museum (First Version)
13)    Superlungs (First Version)
14)    Land of Doesn't Have to Be, The - (previously unreleased)
15)    Sunshine Superman
16)    Good Trip (Demo) (Mono)
17)    House of Jansch (Demo) (Mono)
Product Details


1. Sunshine Superman

2. Legend Of A Girl Child Linda

3. Three Kingfishers

4. Ferris Wheel

5. Bert's Blues

6. Season Of The Witch

7. The Trip

8. Guinevere

9. The Fat Angel

10. Celeste

11. Breezes Of Patchulie

12. Museum (First Version)

13. Superlungs (First Version)

14. The Land Of Doesn't Have To

15. Sunshine

16. Good Trip (Demo)

17. House Of Jansch (Demo)

Performer Notes
  • The big psychedelic chart topper for folk guru Donovan, this includes the title track and "Season of Witch."
  • The Remastered import edition includes six bonus tracks.
  • Audio Mixer: Peter Mew.
  • Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
  • Liner Note Author: Lorne Murdoch.
  • Photographers: Jack Pia; Barry Plummer.
  • Paced by the title track, one of Donovan's best singles, 1966's Sunshine Superman heralded the coming psychedelic age with a new world/old world bent: several ambitious psychedelic productions and a raft of wistful folk songs. Producer Mickie Most fashioned a new sound for the Scottish folksinger, a sparse, swinging, bass-heavy style perfectly complementing Donovan's enigmatic lyrics and delightfully skewed, beatnik delivery. The two side-openers, "Sunshine Superman" and "Season of the Witch," are easily the highlights of the album; the first is the quintessential bright summer sing-along, the second a chugging eve-of-destruction tale. The rest of Sunshine Superman is filled with lengthy, abstract, repetitive folk jams, perfect for lazy summer afternoons, but more problematic when close attention is paid. Accompanied by acoustic guitar and a chamber quartet, the second track, "Legend of a Girl Child Linda," plods on for nearly seven minutes, Donovan's hippie-dippie delivery rendering "lace" into "layyyzzz." After that notable low point, he performs much better, tingling a few spines with his enunciation on the ancient-sounding folksongs "Guinevere," "Three King Fishers," and "Ferris Wheel." Elsewhere, he salutes the Jefferson Airplane on "The Fat Angel" and fellow British folkie Bert Jansch on "Bert's Blues." Donovan's songs are quite solid, but Mickie Most's insistence on extroverted productions (it would grow even more pronounced with time) resulted in a collection of songs that sound good on their own but aren't very comfortable in context. ~ John Bush
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Did anyone ever write a song as grand as SUNSHINE SUPERMAN's 'Celeste' ?"

Mojo (Publisher) (p.72) - "[A] heady brew of pop hooks, sun-drenched textures and outrageously fey lyrics, SS still possesses a dreamweaving power."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The decorous 'Legend Of A Girl Child Linda' is immersed in introspection, and a similarly indulgent seam of sumptuous melancholy runs through 'Celeste.'"
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top