Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Superman: The Movie

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Easy Listening » Orchestral

Superman: The Movie

Artist: London Symphony Orchestra

Elsewhere $28.63 $14.99   Save $13.64 (48%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Rhino (Label)
Album: Superman: The Movie
# Song Title   Time
1)    Superman, film score: Prelude and Main Title March
2)    Superman, film score: The Planet Krypton
3)    Superman, film score: Destruction of Krypton
4)    Superman, film score: Star Ship Escapes
5)    Superman, film score: The Trip to Earth
6)    Superman, film score: Growing Up
7)    Superman, film score: Death of Jonathan Kent
8)    Superman, film score: Leaving Home
9)    Superman, film score: The Fortress of Solitude
10)    Superman, film score: Welcome to Metropolis
11)    Superman, film score: Lex Luthor's Lair
12)    Superman, film score: The Big Rescue
13)    Superman, film score: Super Crime Fighter
14)    Superman, film score: Super Rescues
15)    Superman, film score: Luthor's Luau
16)    Superman, film score: The Planet Krypton (Alternate Version)
17)    Superman, film score: Main Title March (Alternate Version)
1)    Superman, film score: Superman March
2)    Superman, film score: The March of The Villains
3)    Superman, film score: The Terrace
4)    Superman, film score: The Flying Sequence
5)    Superman, film score: Lois And Clark
6)    Superman, film score: Crime of The Century
7)    Superman, film score: Sonic Greeting
8)    Superman, film score: Misguided Missiles And Kryptonite
9)    Superman, film score: Chasing Rockets
10)    Superman, film score: Superfeats
11)    Superman, film score: Super Dam and Finding Lois
12)    Superman, film score: Turning Back The World
13)    Superman, film score: Finale and End Title March
14)    Superman, film score: Love Theme From Superman
15)    Superman, film score: Can You Read My Mind (Alternate Version)
16)    Superman, film score: The Flying Sequence/ Can You Read My Mind
17)    Superman, film score: Can You Read My Mind (Instrumental Version)
18)    Superman, film score: Theme From Superman (Concert Version)

Performer Notes
  • Original score composed by John Williams.
  • Recorded at Anvil Studios, Denham, England in July 1978. Includes liner notes by Christopher Reeve, Iiya Salkind and Michael Matessino.
  • Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch (Digiprep).
  • John Williams was the man of the moment in soundtrack music from 1977 onward, and Superman: The Movie was very much the culmination of his first wave of international renown. Casting aside his over-reliance on the works of Holst, Ravel, and Korngold, he delivered up a score that still -- 30-plus years later -- is lively, playful, mysterious, and, most of all, stylistically original and filled with unexpected touches that still surprise when heard as pure music. Williams and the London Symphony Orchestra by this time played like he was joined telepathically to the musicians, and also recognized just how closely and widely their work would be heard in the wake of the huge sales on the soundtracks from Star Wars and Close Encounters of the Third Kind. Thus, the playing here is impeccable, from the finely nuanced, brooding passages depicting the planet Krypton to the heroic theme associated with the title character. And they are a delight to hear, though much more so in the remastered and expanded double-CD edition from Rhino/Warner Archive, which improves the sound dramatically. There's still a lot that one will recognize from established composers, and that Williams even "steals" from himself, but he's got it all finely developed here in a more mature style that makes it worthwhile hearing more than once. ~ Bruce Eder

Format:CD (0 Disc)
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:15 February, 2000
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

2 review(s)
All Reviews
Heath on
The definitive (2cd) remastered score from the first Superman movie. So happy with the quality and packaging of this product, extensive liner notes and the many versions of favourite tracks. For fans of Superman, John Williams or anyone who appreciates phenomenal film scores. One of John Williams' best.
David on
This is the best version of John Williams superb soundtrack.

Rhino Records (owned by Warner Bros) has gone back to the archives to source previously unpublished tracks. For example, Death of Johnathan Kent, a particularly beautiful passage of music.

I have always loved the first nine tracks (up to Fortress of Solitude) - Williams at his best.

Apart from the Star Wars soundtracks, this is John Williams best - ever!!

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Superman: The Movie on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.